You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #22: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Mummy came in through the verandah door, wearing a pensive look and obviously worried about something. It wasn't difficult to decipher that something was amiss.
She came into the sitting room and sat without a word, looking intermittently at my face especially when I was not looking.
Tears started rushing down her cheeks as freely as the benevolent rains that drop from the Skies.

I began to fear so much knowing that whatever it was, must have been serious. Could it be her job? Did anyone insult, harass her? Mom was known for her strong personality, it was really difficult to get to the soft part of her no matter what happened.
She was an encouragement to everyone who crossed her paths.

Then she looked away and slept off.
Upon second thoughts I discovered mom was holding a piece of bottle, I tiptoed towards her only to discover that it was a bottled message from the International police, dad was killed in the war in South Sudan so they had to notify us of the shipment of the corpse.

Oh my God, the shock was so much that I never knew when I passed out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77