You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let’s talk personality!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

I want to highlight that personality which always feels the need to play the devil's advocate. No matter what idea you have, they rebound with the possible negative outcome - with every opinion you have they immediately jump on the opposite side of the argument just to be disruptive. I really think they may assume they're being useful by making you look at all the angles but in all honesty it gets very frustrating! Sometimes you just want your devil's advocate friend/relative to agree with you but they let you down every time! Even when it's something you know they agree with you on they still choose to jump across the line and play out their part!

I hope this is a good entry! I deal with a person like this all the time and it used to get me really pissed off but I've learned that it is just in their nature and perhaps they really so think they're helping you to see both sides or to know where the weaknesses are in your beliefs so I tend to let them have a go and remind myself that I will not feed into their need for a debate! <3 Great contest @beeyou

Sort:  

We definitely can’t forget the devil’s advocate! The one who believe they are helping you out by questioning your every action. There is always one of those. Great example!

I have a cousin-in law who was the instigator for everything. True devils advocate. As like you, there were times I wished he would just talk to me instead of instigating over everything. He past away a few years back much too soon. I don’t have any other family or friends that are the devils advocate and I miss that part of him now. I miss him period but that pesky side always provoked me because that’s what he did. reminiscing smile here..thanks for bringing back a memory of him @amariespeaks.

awww @beeyou so sorry for your loss - but I'm happy I've reminded you and sparked some love for you cousin! This is a case study of my dad LOL so believe me I know all about that pesky side ;-) I'm sure I'll miss it one day too but right now.. not so much!

And there’s is no nice way to say stop, because he is your dad. I know he does it out of love and is just watching out for his baby @amariespeaks. A daddy will always want the best for his little girl.

you're 100% right ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56