You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (You say what???)

in #contest5 years ago

Burlesque!

This wasn't when I was a kid though, but otherwise fits.

I was working on someone's computer at work, and she was having a conversation with another woman about something. There other woman said multiple times that such and such was "so burlesque". Being a word not commonly part of my vernacular, I googled it to see what it meant. This was my result.

I read the first definition and thought (out loud) "Huh...I think I would like burlesque."

"I bet you would like it," replied the second woman accusatively. And then she went on her way.

What was she accusing me of? So I looked back at my phone and read the second definition. Very different from the first! But she was already gone, so I couldn't show her how this little confusion came about. I still laugh about it though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hahaa!!!! That's the funniest thing... and so awkward when you say it so naively, and then only realise afterwards what it is!

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the new Question (When your parents...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhenyourparents-z517d2ona2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30