You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Mottos....)

in #contest6 years ago

I have two, but I don't mind if only one counts. The first echoes your motto, "Quietly brilliant". My mother had a saying that was a little more pedestrian but carried the same message: "Self praise stinks."

My personal favorite is, "Go pray in a closet." I'm not given to quoting the Bible (you see, my motto says I'm not.) However, if you're interested, this comes from a section of the Good Book that says if you make a public show of praying, don't expect divine reward. Basically, the motto means to me: there's nothing pious about public piety.

Sort:  

Ha ha, definitely a similar sentiment but I could see that one being used against others rather than a self reminder!

I had never heard the prayer one though. I like it!

As children we always felt this did not work to our benefit. My mother was loathe to boast about her own children but listened graciously to others' boasts. It never seemed even-handed to us, but as I grow older, I've come to believe that humility is one of the most attractive qualities we can cultivate.

The winners and the next Steem Basic Income Giveaway can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleastfavouritefood-10toxcec95

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57102.05
ETH 2348.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33