Embrace The Suck - The Art Of Getting Better

in #contentmarketing5 years ago (edited)


(Huge shout out to @athomewithcraig for the idea of the title for this post...It's as straight forward as can be!)

Building any kind of online business requires entrepreneurs to grow in areas they may not be too comfortable in....It's part of the journey but for some, it can be a lot easier said than done...

One of the areas that online entrepreneurs must embrace is content marketing. Traffic generation is a touchy subject and while sure you can run to Facebook and drop a small fortune on some ad placements...Many entrepreneurs look to more organic and in many cases, free, traffic generating methods.

And that's where content marketing comes in...

It's not a sexy approach though, because this stuff takes time to start to pay off..But if we embrace the process and know that we aren't going to get 10,000 people beating down our doors next week, it's a fantastic marketing strategy.

But....There's always a but!

You may have heard me mention a content marketer by the name of Roberto Blake before. I highly recommend that you follow him btw!

He came up with an awesome strategy and approach to building content online...And it's something that will change your mindset when it comes to creating content!

First..He states that you must create at least 100 pieces of content (blog posts, videos, social media posts etc..) before you get..Any traction!

Oh wow...Even if you are creating content at least once a day, that's 100 days away before you get ANY kind of reaction from your audience....

Terrifying!

And yup, most people won't dedicate themselves to that.

But wait, it gets worse....

He then says that if you want to start making a living from this same content, get ready to create 1000 pieces before you start pulling in the big bucks.

You hear this kind of approach in other areas of building businesses too. Malcom Gladwell's famous statement that you need to invest 10,000 hours in ANY craft before you can master it...Doesn't really get people too excited. Because that's almost 5 years of investing your life into something (given you work at it for like 40 hours a week)...

Welp...Here's my advice!

Embrace the suck!

You are going to suck when you first get started at creating content...Great! You aren't supposed to be an expert on day one....

Speaking of sucking....Here's a video I did, one of the first ever...In 2010. I was about 100 lbs heavier than I am now, and let's just say I had the personality of a....Corpse.

I sucked! Man it''s cringe worthy watching that now lol

But I kept doing videos...I kept creating.

I knocked out 100 pieces of content that same year...And then started to create much more 'comfortable' videos like...

I just kept creating...But I think you can see the massive difference between video number 1 (ish) and then the video above which was a few years later.

But it didn't just happen...

To benefit from a content marketing approach, you MUST be creating everyday.

And no, that doesn't mean your content needs to be your magnum opus each day...But you need to be out there, pushing yourself!

Embrace the suck!

Embrace that it's not going to be easy. And embrace that you may not be that good when you start at creating...The important part though...Is that you create daily!

And don't stop... ;)


steem

The Union Is Here!

Blockchain meets Affiliate Marketing....

=> CTP Condenser - https://www.CTPtalk.com

=> CTP Token on Steem-Engine - https://steem-engine.com/?p=market&t=CTP


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/embrace-the-suck-the-art-of-getting-better/

Sort:  

Just when I started to doubt myself... Embrace the SUCK... ok...

Posted using Partiko Android

ha ha ha ha it's a little straight forward...but hey, it's honest :)

Straight forward is good (sometimes we do need this to be smack right in our face...)

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a great idea what you had here Jon, but instead of a BEFORE and AFTER picture, you added videos. The transformation is incredible after more or less 100 videos!

Thanks man....Yeah hopefully I get fired up like I was back then and keep losing the weight LOLOL

I meant the improvement in your video creation and presentation techniques. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

ha ha ha ha I know...But I'm looking at the mammoth creature I used to be LOL And thinking I can improve.

This post inspired me! 😁 Thank you for share!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the comment. Glad it did :)

We are all striving to get better. Great advice Jon.

Bradley

thanks man. glad you enjoyed it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice title lol. What a difference from that 1st video. Are you sure it's the same guy?
Thanks for the shout out.

I had a lot more money back then LOLOLOL That's for sure. But I was nervous, scared and kept screwing up every single step of the way.

Just a few months ago, I was buying articles for my websites... Now, I'm creating my own crappy articles... :)

I hope that I will get into that phase of creating great and valuable content... I'm 70-80 articles to go... :)

Thanks for sharing your first videos (where you suck) with us... Now, I'm feeling better :)

Ha ha ha ha ha Man, it was bad...I was trying to find the very first one, but it's not uploaded anywhere. It was HORRIBLE....Stuttering every second word, ummm and ahh's all the time...But that's the trick really...Knowing we suck when we start, and keep creating...No matter what.

Well, you are good at one more thing...

In telling us that we suck, and after that, we feel better, WE LIKE IT! :)

ha ha ha ha ha ha I do my best :)

The good old days you were not that great on video but we sure were making good money in those days. We were our own worst enemy's back then got comfortable and paid the price. Oh well we live and learn by our mistakes. Videos are amazing compared to the old days, and your re growing ctp back to its glory days.

Kills me thinking about it man. Thought it would never end and we all pissed it away. That being said, I'm MUCH more hopeful for a future that involves crypto in it ;)

I did the same thing with knowforprofit thought it would never end as well, oh well I think ctp tokens miners and some of the other steem-engine tokens and curating post is going to be the long term answers for me.

The options are there for sure...We're paying out weekly commissions again which is so awesome....Plus the CTP Token is generating attention....Slow and steady, we're coming back :)

👏👏 another great and inspiring post! I always look forward to your posts as I find them highly inspiring and motivating. Thank you!

Thanks so much for the comments :) And so glad you are getting value from them!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

And now for the bad news.

The reason it takes so much content to gain traction is 91% of website content gets no traffic from Google according to a recent study (source: https://ahrefs.com/blog/search-traffic-study/).

I want my content to be in the 9% category. But it takes lots of work to create quality content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40