A Man with a Badge (short story)

in #contemporary8 years ago

Fires in Southern Cali, Floods in Louisiana,
Firefights everywhere else; with or without victims. Two nights ago, I saw hordes of police stampede through an otherwise quiet street. Yestetday, I saw the military mobilize through a public highway. I'm noticing that the things I would normally get pulled over for are being ignored. Something big is going down.

As if the current disasters aren't bad enough, people are yet being extorted in some form or another. If you aren't being robbed, you're being taxed. You get robbed by the police and you're taxed by criminals. Woops. But they're both the same, I think. The money goes to someone else's relief funds doesn't it? I can understand that someone's had it hard but is it really someone else's obligation to do something about it?

I got two hundred dollars left over from last month so I thought it would be really cool of me to use it for the relief. I thought I'd buy some canned food and deliver it to one of those community based relief centers I heard about.
So I bought the food and I bought beer. Smiling to myself I thought, who wouldn't appreciate beer at a time like that?
After loading the truck, I picked out a six pack for myself. Yeah, the act of giving is a reward in itself, right? But what good is a reward if its not beer? Any way, on my way to go out and package the goods, I picked out one of my self-congratulatory beers and began to sip from it. Right then, from my rear view mirror, I saw the cherry tops and my face going pale. I pulled over and I was just getting to the DHL. I pulled in there anyway. Sitting there, I think whether or not to throw out the beer, but I figured it'd be better if I hadn't. The officer went straight to the point and asked how many beers I have had, I told him I just had a sip, then he asked if I was planning on drinking all six as he was pointing to the case I had sitting on the passenger seat. I had told him no. But just as I was about to finish that syllable, he immediately asked me for my ID, which I instantly came up with and I blurted out everything I intended to do trying to zero in on the fact that we were right at the spot where I was to finish what I would do. And just to sort of prove it I fumbled for the paper I wrote where I was going to have the supplies delivered to, so my hands trembled as I handed it to him. Snatching it from me he looked at it both front and back then he dropped both my ID and my note on my lap then asked if I required his assistance. I was shocked. I had already ditched hope since I saw the flashing lights in my mirror, but I had unbelieveably been let go. I had already been arrested before on a misdemeanor and I still hadn't been able to recover from that comoletely. I thought my fate had already been sealed, that another strike would be put on my record; but not today. No sir, for once I get a big break, nevermind my vices, my virtues are finally being paid attention to. "Hey, come on now, THEY don't got all day" I had known he meant the flood victims when he said they, so I had the biggest smile on my face the whole time I was actually getting help from my local officer.
I wanted to thank him for being so cool so I asked him his name. As soon as I said it, I realized I could just look at his badge, but before I got a good look, he covered it, turned around and took off the top of his uniform, then he turned back to me with his shirt in his hand and just said, "For now, I'm just nobody who would like one of your beers: Can I get one?"
I marveled at this man. He's become one of the coolest people I've ever gotten to know. I've become a fan of this guy. Speechless, I just reached for one and just handed it to him, all wide-eyed. Once he noticed I acknowledged his request, he flung his shirt on his shoulder, and gave me a smile that just made me melt.(no homo) Then he got his beer, went to his car, then took off. I just watched in awe the entire time. And then he was gone. My only thought I had the rest of the day was how much I wished I had shaken that man's hand.

Note: As much I would have liked for this to have happened, it hasn't. But can it happen? I truly want for it to. Who knows? maybe it has some where, some how, some way. I do apologize if knowing this made you feel sour.

I hope one could take inspiration from this and maybe look on to a moment where their good deeds are noticed regardless of what sort of background that person's had. Maybe reserve judgments from your neighbor because we truly don't know what ther other is capable of. Sometimes, the best thing one can do in a situation is just to not get in the way.

Sort:  

Congratulations @datpartyboi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59322.53
ETH 2584.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45