Windy Cape Breton

Well here's a tale that shows hindsight is 20/20. I thought I was being pretty clever by getting a shed on sale last summer and spent quite a bit of time figuring out the perfect spot to put it, then digging sod out to make a level space for it. I'm a bit handicapped with arthritic knees so I had to take that really slowly but eventually I got all the sod cut out.

When a friend came from California to help me put the shed up we decided that it best go on a platform and so quickly cut up my pallet deck (it was near the end of the season anyway) to use as a base for a plywood floor and then we spent 2 full days putting the darn thing together.

New shed - Sept 2017.jpg
Well all was fine and good for 5 months until a hurricane force wind barrelled through here and poof, shed collapsed.

Feb 5:17.jpg

I mean, we have had storms in the interim and as a matter of fact were out of power for 30 hours at the beginning of January in quite a bad storm. This was just one random crazy wind that roared through, shook the house and... no more shed. When I think of it though, there are no cute metal sheds to be seen in these parts. Now I know why!

The worst part is that my carpenter who had been over (after months of my waiting) to do a small job, saw the shed and proclaimed that he could frame it up properly with 2 x 4's and some kind of corrugated siding. We figured the roof was useable. I, frankly could have left it heaped on the ground until spring since I'm short of money right now but low and behold within days he arrives with a helper and starts to work on the shed. Within two hours they've got it framed. I mean it was kind of exciting.

Next time I looked.jpg

So I went off to Inverness for tai chi class and had a lovely walk on the beach and when I came home, lo and behold.

When I got home this afternoon.jpg

Pretty amazing because he actually straightened out all the metal and was able to reuse it all. It seems odd though because it looks exactly like it never blew down!! The big shock was the $500 bill to resurrect it. Especially without more new materials. Surely the most expensive shed in the neighbourhood.

Sort:  

Congratulations @redbootsdancing! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @redbootsdancing! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44