You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A mother's guilt -Constrained Writing Contest #23

This story is both heartwarming and heartbreaking.

If only I had l kept paying rent instead of playing bingo…

For some reason whenever I hear bingo I think of old people in those caretaking homes. It must be an image imprinted into my brain by the movies/series I've watched (Better call Saul springs to mind). But that's a.. weird addiction to be.. costing the lives of a mother and daughter.

What I like most about this story is that the first part is so much about their relationship and just love in general.. Then in the second part you take it all away and make us know that although mistakes were made and that the mother wishes to undo everything and start anew... she can't. Very much like it is in real life. We can't change history. We can't bring the "good ol' times"... So in my opinion it is best to remember with a smile on your face, but at the same time realize it's a thing of the past... And that the road always takes you forward and onward.

A very, very good story.

I am so sorry I missed your entry. For the sake of not changing the three winners, I will put you down as an honorable mention, though truth be told, you would've certainly made it up there.
I hope you find the sent compensation fair.

Much love,
@svashta.

Sort:  

Awww - bless you. I didn't comment to get a place. I actually thought it perhaps was too personal and not good enough. Sometimes, written from the soul is not as objective as it should be for other readers. Many thanks for your kind comments. As for bingo addiction - I recall mother spending £10 a session, two session a day sometimes, which for a single parent family on a low wage, was an enormous amount. You should read my series from https://steemit.com/life/@suzanrs/a-window-to-way-back-just-a-glimpse-of-the-shadows-behind-me onwards. That'll give you an insight to what bingo (and other destructive behaviours) can do to a family. :D
In the meantime, I started writing for the birthday party challenge and ended up writing about my rescue dogs https://steemit.com/animals/@suzanrs/annie-s-life-her-first-year-from-romanian-streets-to-a-uk-lounge
so, now that's posted I'm back to the birthday party :/
Haha :D

That sucks. Whatever money spent in such a way is.. destructive, to say the least...
Never thought of bingo that way... I better steer clear of it, just to make sure haha :D

Hhahahaa :D Oh man. Rescue dogs and birthday parties... well they are kind of connected, no? Save someone's life and they'll have another birthday :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64871.83
ETH 2536.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67