A mother's guilt -Constrained Writing Contest #23

It seems only a few days ago I was watching the happiness on her face, the beaming smile, the giggling sounds, the baby noises.
Then time went flying by and she was a teenager. Independent, yet somehow still needing me. But I found I was needing something else, something more. Something was getting the blood rushing through my head, a faint buzzing in my ear, a comradery was growing with people of a like mind, people of a like age, and she was seeing less of me.

Even so, we were still leaning on each other. Family. And though sometimes there were problems of stress and sadness, she’d be smiling.
Laughing and teasing each other over silly little things, I would often catch myself thinking of the wonderful feeling of having her with me. She was my reason for getting up every day.
Then suddenly our tough but loving life was shattered, bringing confusion and uncertainty.
We were losing our home and it was all my fault.

On the day I found out, knowing that she was coming home soon, to the place we were being turned out of, I went walking to the bus stop, thinking, almost crying, on the way to meeting her.
If we had been together she wouldn’t have minded a lot. Knowing we’d always be finding our way through together, but this time life was dealing us a terrible blow, my mistakes, my selfishness, they were catching up with me and against our will we were going our separate ways.

Then came the day we were leaving the place we’d now stopped calling home, I was walking, meeting her after work. As the bus was pulling slowly into the stop I saw that she was crying, tears, falling silently down her reddening cheeks. Walking back to the house silently we started getting our things. We were both crying, neither of us were speaking. There was nothing worth saying.

I was watching her, bursting with love and shame all at once as she was climbing into the taxi. Turning and looking at me she was smiling, trying hard, hiding the tears, then suddenly we were waving our goodbyes, unspoken heartache filling both of us. She was so uncertain of what was ahead for her. Where would she be living? Was she lodging? Was she looking for her own place? She was still a child. Would she keep moving or find a place to stay settling for her? Would she ever find reason to start smiling again?

Oh! How could I be causing so much hurt to someone I’ve spent a whole lifetime cherishing?

The night before, back at the house, she had been crying for two hours until at last she was sleeping, exhaustion taking over, disturbed and overtired. Things have not been coming easy to her over most of her life, but we’ve been getting by. Me because I was caring for her, her because she was relying on me and knowing she could. Now though I’m letting her down so badly. It’s hurting so much down deep inside.
To know she’s feeling lost, lonely and forsaken when together we could be riding the tide.

I’m feeling the lonely pain too as I’m sitting here in my one, dark, smelly hostel room, thinking - No! knowing that one day soon we’ll be together again.

If only I had l kept paying rent instead of playing bingo… for I am only now realising that having my daughter with me was the best thing I had and my addiction was ruining life for her, for both of us. Things will now be changing….

Based on a true story

steemit follow download2.jfif

Sort:  

What a touching story, sorrowful her full of love.

I don’t know what role you played in this story, but I am happy to have read it.

Thank you. I'm glad it touched you. That was the point. Plus to highlight what addiction can do -how the destruction creeps up and affects more than just the addict. Also I was Just an observer. It was my mum who wrote the original poem for my sister. I'd left home long before. My sister came to live with me that day.

Thank you for those added details.

It adds a little depth to the story. And give a little hope for the daughter. Wishing you well.

This story is both heartwarming and heartbreaking.

If only I had l kept paying rent instead of playing bingo…

For some reason whenever I hear bingo I think of old people in those caretaking homes. It must be an image imprinted into my brain by the movies/series I've watched (Better call Saul springs to mind). But that's a.. weird addiction to be.. costing the lives of a mother and daughter.

What I like most about this story is that the first part is so much about their relationship and just love in general.. Then in the second part you take it all away and make us know that although mistakes were made and that the mother wishes to undo everything and start anew... she can't. Very much like it is in real life. We can't change history. We can't bring the "good ol' times"... So in my opinion it is best to remember with a smile on your face, but at the same time realize it's a thing of the past... And that the road always takes you forward and onward.

A very, very good story.

I am so sorry I missed your entry. For the sake of not changing the three winners, I will put you down as an honorable mention, though truth be told, you would've certainly made it up there.
I hope you find the sent compensation fair.

Much love,
@svashta.

Awww - bless you. I didn't comment to get a place. I actually thought it perhaps was too personal and not good enough. Sometimes, written from the soul is not as objective as it should be for other readers. Many thanks for your kind comments. As for bingo addiction - I recall mother spending £10 a session, two session a day sometimes, which for a single parent family on a low wage, was an enormous amount. You should read my series from https://steemit.com/life/@suzanrs/a-window-to-way-back-just-a-glimpse-of-the-shadows-behind-me onwards. That'll give you an insight to what bingo (and other destructive behaviours) can do to a family. :D
In the meantime, I started writing for the birthday party challenge and ended up writing about my rescue dogs https://steemit.com/animals/@suzanrs/annie-s-life-her-first-year-from-romanian-streets-to-a-uk-lounge
so, now that's posted I'm back to the birthday party :/
Haha :D

That sucks. Whatever money spent in such a way is.. destructive, to say the least...
Never thought of bingo that way... I better steer clear of it, just to make sure haha :D

Hhahahaa :D Oh man. Rescue dogs and birthday parties... well they are kind of connected, no? Save someone's life and they'll have another birthday :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32