MY ENTRY- CONSTRAINED WRITING CONTEST #10

in #constrainedwriting7 years ago (edited)

BEFORE THE FLATLINE

images.jpg
photo credit

“Anybody there? Can you hear me?” Why can’t anyone hear me? Could it be that I am not shouting loud enough? “Can anybody hear me?!”

Why is it so dark in here? Where am I?

"Will she be fine? God damn it, what are you people even doing for my Betty?!” Is that someone I hear?

Ma, is that you? “Ma, can you hear me?”

"What haven't we done?" Whose voice is that? Why can’t I see him?

Oh God, why is it so cold in here?

“Can’t you hear me? Ma!” Is that a tear rolling down my cheek?

"Why won't she wake up, Doctor?"

“Ma, where am I?”

"You mean why she's not responding to treatment?” Why is his voice so distant? Has he given up already?

“Was it something I did? Did I miscalculate her insulin? D-did I kill my daughter?" Ma, why are you crying? Have you also given up on me?

“Ms. Miller, my office would be a better place to talk about this, don’t you think?" Why are you taking my ma away? “Ma, you won’t leave me alone in this darkness, would you?”

What is that sound?

Oh no, why is the darkness coming at me…swallowing me?

"Why? What's happening?" Why is there so much panic in mom's voice? “Is she flatlining?!”

Flat-what? Where from the sudden noise and chaos?

“Nurse, can you take Ms. Miller outside?”

No, why would you take her away?!

"Clear?" Whose voice is that?

Argh, what is that... pain?

“Again?"

What? Are they going to hurt me again?

Wait… why did I not feel that one? Why did I not feel the pain? What is happening?

A-am I…?

while I die.jpg
photo credit


I will like to thank @svashta for this contest. :) Also, my thanks go to all the lovely people at the writers' block, especially @bex-dk and @tinypaleokitchen. Y'all are simply wonderful!

Sort:  

Oh man! The chills down my spine!
Definitely worth a second read when I already knew what it was about!

Excellent job! Thank you very much for your entry!

Wow! That gave me chills too!!! This contest has brought out some good question stories!!! Grats on winning!!! Thanks for sharing!

Welcome. I am glad you liked it.

Congratulations @ronyxoxo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I am honored. Accepted!💃🏾

Congratulations. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot Fiction Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-fiction-curation-12

💃💃💃.

Holy cheeseballs! I got shivers down every limb throughout the story. Marvelous, simply marvelous!

Wow. Thanks a lot @anikekirsten. Means a lot to me!

Amazing job! I love the mix of dialogue and thought :)
Super chilling and kind of dark, I love it.

Thanks @dfrankle. I am glad you loved it💃💃💃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.05
ETH 2955.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13