Constrained Writing Contest #15 - Inanimate Object

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

Write a story from the perspective of an inanimate object, but never tell us explicitly what it is

It was the thumping that got to me. I never got over it. I should have been OK with that part. I mean, the skidding, the kicking, the slamming, the grinding, the dirt. The noise! All that was OK. But the thumping--I couldn’t take it anymore.

When I finally left, it was during the Fall, when no one was around. It was very odd to feel separated from my home and dangling freely through the air for the first time since I can remember. I could feel the breeze on my back--something I had never felt in all of my career. I thought I might miss my home--that I would feel naked and useless once I was gone. But quite the contrary. I’ve never felt more free.

All my life, I knew I was a mathematical impossibility. Now, none of that mattered. I was in Nirvana, where I existed free of form and constraint. I could be everywhere and nowhere at once. It was like something I had never experienced before. All of me was nowhere to be found. But now that I was essentially nothing, I felt more connected and part of something than when I was whole.

I had been extremely useful during my career. It isn’t that I had felt useless. I did like that part. And I worried about letting go of that. But now that I am gone, I don’t know whether my actual usefulness can be measured after my departure. And it is a good thing. Somehow, I feel as though I can accomplish anything. And there is no limit.

The best part: there is no more thumping.

Sort:  

Hmm idk if I could quite pull this type of writing off. But as I read this, first thing that popped up was a sauce pan. :-)

You mean you want to write from the point of view of a frying pan, or you think I wrote from one?

Reading yours made me think it is a sauce pan. But upon reading again, a soccer ball?

You are getting close...hints are "skidding" "dirt" and "home"

The home plate on a baseball field?

YOU GOT IT!!

Ohhh, am getting antsy trying to figure it out lol.

I have another object for you to guess. SBD goes to the winner. Read my post here

That was fun and clever!

I have another object for you to guess. SBD goes to the winner. Read my post here

Did you figure out what it is?

“All my life, I knew I was a mathematical impossibility.” I can relate.

At first I thought money in a pocket...then I thought the ink of a pen....then water I need a bottle.... I don’t think so though.

I started writing from the perspective of s few inanimate objects in a book of short stories I am working on. This contest looks awesome!

I have another object for you to guess. SBD goes to the winner. Read my post here

The shape of it is supposedly a mathematical impossibility. But I don't know if that's true or not.

Fireworks? Hmmm

Well at least the thumping stopped...

I must admit, I didn’t figure it out.

I have another object for you to guess. SBD goes to the winner. Read my post here

I couldn't figure it out either, maybe a tire, or a bike :D Good job!

I have another object for you to guess. SBD goes to the winner. Read my post here

Well, it's made out of the same stuff as a tire....see my hint above to @pixiehunter.

guesswhatiam #3 -- Earn free SBD. Contest posted

I'm trying my hardest but can't wrap my head around this one.
Flying and feeling the breeze in the Fall... But otherwise being thumped and kicked and slammed?

I can't figure it out :<

Very well written though, and thank you ver ymuch for your entry! I'll definitely try again tomorrow :3

Think seasonal use...and not flying, but dangling freely. And only after its use was done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73