Constrained Writing Contest #15-The perspective of an inanimate object

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

DQmNNKn9eBy3KrEtxgqtTNP3DZnmjauhXFkg62qLHFWUkys.jpeg
Source

It was a sunny afternoon,around 14:00, it was a lonely and boring one, as other days used to be because i live in a street where we only have a small population and little electricity supply. I decided to call my friend Mutiu who lives in the city which is about ten kilometers away from my house, for a visit to make my day lively with gist. Unfortunately, his line was unreachable, i decided to visit him, since it was a Saturday and a holiday, thinking he would be at home. I walked to the side of the road to take a cab to his house, since I live in a street where we have a little population,its always difficult to get a cab or even a bike to take you to the city.

Mostly, people going to the city will have to walk about six kilometers to get a ride. I decided to walk down the street a bit to see if i might get lucky,but getting a cab or bike seemed like building castle in the air, I decided to walk down to his house, since its just ten kilometers away from mine and have walked more than that when i was in secondary school.

I went back to my house to get what will prevent me from the high intensity of the sun, embarking on my short journey, i noticed it had holes in it but i could still manage it. Unfortunately for me again, I was unable to adjust it to completely prevent the high intensity of the sun on me. I decided to manage it to walk down to Mutiu's house since my main motive of going which is killing boredom is still preferable to me than the little intensity of the sun that will scorch me.

After walking about five kilometers, which is half of my journey, it began to have bigger holes due to wind blowing through it and it was an original fake. I decided it to dispose it since it couldn't prevent me from the high intensity of the sun. I walked about three kilometers more before i saw a cab, the amount he charged was too much, i thought in my mind "i just have two kilometers more,why pay for expensive cab?" I walked the remaining two kilometers sweating like a man having a prostate exam, I got to Mutiu's house, asked of him and was told he left not long to visit me.

Sort:  

I don't think you've quite understood what the constraint of the contest was...
An inanimate object is one that is not alive.
For example, a rock is an inanimate object. It cannot speak, it cannot move on it own, ...

As much as I like this phrase:

sweating like a man having a prostate exam

and the last line... I'm sad to say neither of your two entries qualify for the contest. They're told from a living thing's/person's point of view... not from the point of view of an inanimate object.

(You might be interested in reading @simgirl's entry to the contest.. She wrote from the perspective of a coffee cup. You can find it here.)

I understand what you mean now.

Sorry if it is not clear enough from the main contest post. :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69279.36
ETH 3870.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73