Tough choice - Constrained Writing Contest

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago

Should I speak, or should I be quiet? – I thought to myself, while the axe was above my neck. Whatever I choose it won’t get me to Valhalla. My lifelong dream is to dine with Odin and the rest of the gods, speak of my legendary conquests and make the gods proud of me and laugh with me to my fearful enemies. My life brought me to a crossroad where both choices will kill my dream. First choice will seal the doors of Valhalla for me forever, and second one will never give me a chance to earn my spot there. I must find another way, really soon, or suffer the consequences.
I owe you a little explanation how I ended up at this crucial point in my life. I’m youngest son of Earl, a ruler of a small village on an island way up to the north. My father was overthrown by young and very ambitious man. If he follows the old laws of our nation all the family of ex-earl should die before the end of the day, so the chance of vengeance and the death of the new earl will be diminished. Those old laws are quite logical, because if someone wants revenge he’ll use any means necessary to get it, even the means that are not honorable and just in the eyes of the gods. So in theory even a weak person can take upon itself to execute revenge and shed uncertainty and disorder upon the village which must never happen. While if Earl has been defeated in one on one combat, is honorable win and honorable death.
My mother, older brothers and sisters have been already executed, but I have been given a choice. A choice to become adopted son of a new Earl and the only reason for that is his son, that is my age, likes to play with me with wooden swords. Sometimes I wish I never meet that boy, and often ask myself why I haven’t been like the rest of the kids and just avoided that boy. He was disliked, no that’s not the words I wanted to use, he was feared, should describe it better. He was feared by the other kids because of his father and his ruthless accomplishments in the raids to the south.
If I say the words “I pledge my life to you, father”, my life will be spared but with that act I’ll renounce my family and have to live with the wrath of gods upon my shoulders for the rest of my days. But if I keep quiet or reject to swear an oath, I’ll never be able to achieve my dream and deserve a spot at Odin’s table through glory in raids and wars. What should I do, stranger? Do you think I can deserve enough honor through raids and wars to soften the gods so there will be a chance for me to have a spot in Valhalla? 

This is my entry to the Constrained Writing Contest hosted by @svastha.
https://steemit.com/constrainedwriting/@svashta/constrained-writing-contest-32-winners-of-constrained-writing-contest-31

Image [source](https://pixabay.com/en/viking-normandy-handle-warrior-2084863/)

Sort:  

Nice, I like it... Good job and right up my alley...

Thank you for entering my contest. I've upvoted your post.

This is a really cool story! Very interesting plot! I like it a lot!
I think he should pledge to this new Earl and achieve as many great things as possible. In the end, maybe even overthrow the new Earl and rule himself.
Very interesting!

Thank you very much for your entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30