You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Psychology Of Control: The Stanford Social Media Thought Prison Experiment

in #conspiracy6 years ago (edited)

Very eloquently said. Little late to reading this unfortunately!

I think that the paradigm of right and left is one of the biggest farces of our time. I fell victim to this; despite feeling like myself a free thinker, an ardent Bernie supporter I realized after when I had time to reflect that I was doing everything that I thought was wrong. I thankfully didn’t flame people all over social media but I rejected ideas, put people down and recruited people into my thought prison. It is one of the biggest reasons I ended up giving up traditional social poison platforms like Facebook.

What about the other experiment, I can’t remember the name, but I believe it was at Yale? Where people were believing that they were giving people electric shocks and when it got to a fatal dose many people actually did end up giving it despite it not being what they wanted to do. They were just ‘doing what they were told.’ The shocks were never delivered of course; there were actors crying in simulated pain. It shows the extent of the wicked human condition.

Sort:  

Hey @cmplxty no problem and sorry for the delay in getting back to you but I haven't been around very much over the weekend. Yes the left/right paradigm is a prison for the mind .. pure hopium, because this time it's going to be different .. isn't it? It's so easy to get drawn into and yet people don't seem to realise we continue to spin in ever decreasing circles and nothing ever changes .. well apart from the slow but steady erosion of our freedoms.

I think the experiment you're talking about is called the Milgram experiment .. and yes it clearly displayed that rather than refuse orders there were a certain demographic of the population that are willing to inflict pain and even kill on command! We have become so indoctrinated to these control mechanisms and the hierarchical construct of our society, that orders circumvent our capacity for empathy and compassion .. scary stuff! Thanks again for the great comment my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45