One Too Many

in #conflictprompt7 years ago (edited)

whiskey-315178_1280.jpg

One Too Many

“You’re just like him: a mean drunk and a shitty husband.” Of course she goes there, using my father as a weapon. God rest his dark soul.

“I wasn’t all that drunk. Up by about one too many, ’s all.” My apology sounds rehearsed, but I am more pissed off than drunk. Dizzy almost with anger at that sonofabitch…. The way his eyes trailed over her body as if I wasn’t there. The way he winked at her, his hairy-ass arm brushing against her soft skin.

“Whatever. I’m going to bed.” She takes her elaborate ponytail out of its glittery holder and shakes her head, her back to me. I am stupidly aroused by how round her ass is in these pant things she’s wearing. Black, clingy. I know there are cellulite dimples under all that, but in this moment, I don’t care. I want to put my hands on it. Mine

“Lisa,” I manage. She turns and glares at me. I know this dance well. “I’m sorry if I embarrassed you.” Simple, and almost true. She didn’t seem embarrassed, not over that. She seemed angry I threw the bastard out of the goddamned bar, pissed she couldn't flirt with him.

“Twenty goddamned years of this shit. I’m sick of it, Andy. Just plain sick of it. Jessie…. Even freaking fat-headed Jessie felt sorry for me tonight.” Her voice is shaky, not so calm now.

I take a step to her, hands out. I don’t feel all that drunk. Hell, I felt plenty sober when I grabbed that dickhead by his coat and threw him clear into the gutter. Lisa stands stock still. I can see the few tiny dots of sweat glistening between her boobs. Boobs that cost me a bundle. I’m alright with that. I want her to feel beautiful at forty. I want her to die feeling beautiful, so long as it doesn’t involve some creeper trying to brush up against her in a bloody bar, in front of my face.

“I really am going to bed. You can sleep in the guest room.” I watch her long legs move in those ridiculous heels, suddenly worried that she’d slip and crack her skull on the travertine tile. Another huge check. Because supper parties. Because we must look better and do better than fat-headed Jessie, and Ron from around the corner and whoever will move in next door at the end of the month.

“It’s not me, Lisa. I meant to tell you tonight. I did the tests. Wanted to…needed to know, for me. My sperm’s fine.” She freezes, a movie still of her glorious ass sculpted in black, her glossy hair the color of expensive mahogany. She turns slightly and smiles.

“I wouldn’t have a kid with you if I could.” She slams the door hard enough to make the glass shatter, had it been the cheap kind. But nothing in this house is cheap. Or mine enough to break.


This post is an entry into the Fictioneers Writing Contest

**********************

With many thanks to the fantastic folks at the writers block fiction workshop. If you are a writer or an aspiring one - join our workshop on Discord. We'd love to have you! You can find your way there by clicking below:

img. credit pixabay

Sort:  

Your description style is amazing. I would like to see more from you @authorofthings

Thank you so much. I do have a bunch more here:-) And hopefully - will have more in the future @munawar1235

Romantic, detailed and descriptive, I just love your style of writing. Well done

Thanks for a great read! 🐓🐓

Thanks for reading:)

My pleasure. 🐓🐓

More matured than the story of others, your versatility as a writer really help us make a story like this, thumbs up and more stories like this in the future and I love those swear words lol

Powerful!
Masterful use of Deep POV (point of view, for non-fictioneering readers)
The narrator keeps me guessing: should we trust him, or the wife who says he embarassed her with his drunken jealous antics...
In the end, I feel for him.
You really pack a lot, like a poet, into a minimal number of words.
Well done!

She is a poet, for sure..... the first thing I ever read of hers was an amazing poem

Wow that was awesome. The detail you have fitted into 500 words is impeccable. Well done!

@g-force1980 - thank you so much! This thing kind of kicked my butt.

Actually this is just a simple story, but because it is packed with slick and a series of words that are easy to digest, making everyone want to keep reading this story until it runs out.
By the way .... i love this story .... i upvote
image

Thank you for reading this!

Impressive Writing . That teaches us a lot .

I love how you brought these people to life. I feel like I know them both. Wonderful story!

Thank you kindly @jonknight. These 500 story things are murder, but a good kind:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65