Qubes OS - A resonably secure operating system that eats other operating systems for breakfast

in #computing6 years ago

Qubes OS just released Qubes 4.0, a radicle new approach to the operating system paradigm.  Essentially, Qubes is a virtualization operating system.  It runs other operating systems in a special mode called Virtual Machines.  Doing it that way makes everything you do with it much more secure.  Because if you play your games on one Virtual Machine, surf the web on another VM, and do your online banking in yet another VM, then each VM is separate and nothing that happens in one virtual machine can have any effect on any other virtual machine!

In other words, even if you do end up getting hacked, the hackers would only have access to just one of your VMs, and you could just delete the compromised VM and create a fresh version of it in no time.  They call this AirGapping the VMs.  I personally use Qubes OS all the time, in fact, I'm writting this on my Qubes laptop while I'm remote controlling my desktop Windows PC through a linux VM.  For the remote control I like to use a program called NoMachine.

NoMachine is sort of beyond the scope of this article, but long story short it basically lets you remote control another computer as if you were sitting infront of it.  The combination of Qubes and NoMachine lets you use any of your computers at the same time in a secure digital environment.  My favorite part of Qubes is that it lets you work with just the apps and windows that you want to work with, instead of showing you the entire desktop of each VM.  If you want to play a game you just play the game, it's seemless with the Qubes interface.

The only problem with Qubes is that it's very picky about the hardware that it will run on.  I had to search for my laptop to find one that would work well with Qubes.  Here is the 'hardware compatability list' in case you're wondering if your computer will work with Qubes, this list might give you a clue.  I used this compatability list to find my laptop.

The people who created Qubes are very smart, here's a video of them giving a presentation about Qubes OS

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing with us this useful information @anomali. This puts privacy in our hands.

QUE BUEN POST, EN AVANCE DE LA TECNOLOGÍA Y NUEVOS SISTEMAS OPERATIVOS

Very interesting. However meltdown and spectre vulnerabilities affect all modern CPUs and Qubes can't not protect itself from them. Even with VMs.
If CPUs leak data, a VM can get a password typed in another VM.
But it is an interesting choice. And will be useful when new CPUs arrive.

I am tech-challenged. But from what little I can grasp, it sounds very interesting.

Wow. Qubes.. I'll see if it'll be compatible with my laptop. Great computer information

@anomaly Wow, very good fun!!!!

@anomaly You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Hello friend @anomaly we are always open to new horizons and technology is one of them.

This is awesome! Thanks for introducing me to QubesOS!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16