You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the best book you've ever read competition! 25 SBD prize money!

in #competiton6 years ago

The_Hitchhiker's_Guide_to_the_Galaxy.jpg

The best book I have ever read, was Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams! I was 13 years old, it opened my mind to a whole new level of narrative description. I was already a sc-fi fan and something of a science nerd, but the story as unfolded, the humor mixed with huge philosophical and quantum physics was mind blowing, and inspired a lifelong study. Harvey dent was a shlub in the suburbs of england whose house was scheduled for demolition to place a highway bypass. In an unexpected turn of events the earth was also scheduled for demolition to build a galactic bypass! Aurthur is saved by his drinking buddy who also happens to be an alien and they go on a fantastic journey through the galaxy with a guide containing all the information collected in the universe, The Hitchhikers guide... to help them on there way.

Guide_from_movie.jpg

It became a series including, "Restaurant at the End of the Universe" and "So Long and Thanks for all the Fish." It has been made into two movies neither of which were able to capture the dry wit and tone of the book. If you have never read this book I can't recommend it enough.

Sort:  

If I could upvote this 42 times, I would, but alas, I may or may not have visitors, and it's time to feed the cat. Share and enjoy!

Thank you! It's really hard to imagine a better author. Judging by you're name we probably share quite a few interests. Nice to meet you!

I've argued repeatedly that Douglas Adams is one of the best authors of all times and have had my kids read them as part of their homeschooling. His amazingly offbeat humor makes me very happy, and I find myself using references to the Guide often in conversation. I have pretty well decided that people who don't like Adams really aren't the type of people I want to be friends with. I even have a reprint of the original radio show of Hitchhiker's with all the production notes. I'm rooting for you to win! I honestly was going to put that down as my choice, but you beat me to the punch, so I'm going with one of my number two favorites... somewhat obscure fantasy, but an excellent series none-the-less.

I don't see how anyone could deny that! lol The Radio show was probably the best media adaption, and that is a hell of a trophy. Glad to hear you're homeschooling too! I will keep an eye out for your entry!

It's not very popular... you'll have to scroll way down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87