You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Comparativeliterature: Reality and Dreams

in #comparativeliterature6 years ago (edited)

Peer Gynt is often seen as a transitional character between the XIX century hero and the more restless and insecure XX century man.
I have to face the reading of the drama... although Ibsen is difficult.
So far I have not gone beyond the orchestrations by Grieg :P

Sort:  

It is one of my favorite plays. Isn't that interesting? I find Ibsen to be a little bit didactic in other pieces, but the blend of myth and existential angst works for me in Gynt.
Yes, I agree, transitional. He is, after all, saved by love (maybe) in the end. I think the XX century would not accept that redemption.
Thanks for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91