You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Comparativeliterature: Reality and Dreams

in #comparativeliterature6 years ago (edited)

What a treasure you delivered.

Yes, I would like to throw in Foucault's Pendulum from Umberto Eco and "The art of motorcycle maintenance" from Robert Pirsig. I don't know if those books count for using dreams and illusions but I would make a bet that conspiracy theories will be traded as illusions very much so:) In Pirsigs novel the protagonist is falling for insanity and only slowly manages to find his way out into reality.

Also, I like the movie "Lars and the Real Girl" which is a 2007 comedy-drama film written by Nancy Oliver and directed by Craig Gillespie. I actually recommended the film in one of my steemstem articles, which is here: https://steemit.com/steemstem/@erh.germany/is-it-more-profitable-to-suffer-than-to-let-go-of-a-problem

Also, I recommend listening to the talks of Terence McKenna, you can find him on youtube.

My own dreams and illusions come from what I perceived through childhood experiences and also mixed them with literature and moving pictures:) - I remember that my mom told me about a ritual where little children around the age of two are being placed on the ground and surrounded with items which are available to the household and its near environment. Depending which item the infant grabs first it is said that that will have a significant influence on its later life. I think my mom told me that I grabbed a pen. But I am not sure, it also could be my wish that that had happened. Laughter. Memory is a trickster.

In dreams I often was able to fly. But that is long ago. Unfortunately I am dreaming less than I did. Or so it seems.

Sort:  

Thank you! Writing this was a little self-indulgent. More of my personality comes through here than in anything else I've written on Steemit so far. Not really the sort of thing that interests most people :)

I loved Lars and the Real Girl. Such a sweet movie, and also intelligent. Well acted by Brian Gosling.

The story about your mother is wonderful--you might use that in one of your fiction pieces. So many possibilities for development--the mother, the child, destiny, fantasy, dreams. Yes, memory is a trickster, and this can be a blessing.

I've read Eco, but not Foucoult's Pendulum. Thank you for reminding me about this excellent author. Often before I go to sleep I like to relax with a fine book and sometimes simply can't think of one.

I appreciate your thoughtful comment. Getting ready for my next blog--not as much fun as this one, but important, I think.

You are welcome. No, winning a popularity price is not very likely to happen. Sometimes, when @curie comes along you'll be acknowledged. This work of yours would meet the criteria, I would say.

Peer's story has many different aspects. For me, according to your summary, it is an escape from conformity and a great desire for freedom. It takes up the question of whether man becomes a victim of circumstances and of other men or whether he can find freedom in his humanity. Peer's return seems to indicate that it is important to him not to be outcast - a very human and understandable attitude. The protective love of mother and Solveig as the last bond not to lose one' s mind is for me a romantic synonym for the contact to earth, to the motherly soil (of the matrix) so to speak. Also a kind of unfinished maturity that reflects the longing of many who still expect the love from their parents in old age that they have expected and sometimes even resent them to death.

So I am glad the author created kind of an open end - unfortunately a hopeless one - which then again is the opposite of romance and leaves no room for a dignified death.

Well, at least the buttons hold the clothes together and the people warm ;-) dark humor speaking.

Overall, it reminds me on the Buddhists approach towards reality which is to wake up from illusion. The dreamy state is not something positive in that context. On the other hand, dreams and symbols in the Jungs sense can be used for finding the inner messages the dreamer sends to himself and be taken for maturation.

Glad, that I reminded you on Eco.

I like your dark humor--good thought, though Peer didn't see it that way :). I think Ibsen's play lends itself to a Jungian interpretation. As usual, excellent points!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89