You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Comparativeliterature: Reality and Dreams

An excellent article. This should be picked up by @curie.

I have not read Peer Gynt, but I am very familiar with Kafka and the story of the bug. It's one of my favorites in all of literature. While these stories are all great classics, the problem with using dreams in literature today is that it's been overdone. What seems to be more useful these days is using dream sequences to tell a story that allegedly really happened, as opposed to telling a wild tale from which the protagonist awakes only to discover it was a dream.

Either way, dreams make great stories when done well.

Sort:  

Thank's so much--your opinion means a lot.

Yeah, Kafka's right up there. All of his pieces. He manages to cut right through verbiage and get to the essential. Brilliant.

When I read Peer Gynt the first time I was tempted to learn Norwegian because some of the phrases struck me. I wondered, if it reads like that in English, what must it sound like in the original?

Thanks again for the appreciation. It is uplifting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87