You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Wish All Those That Move To Hive Well!

Hey, @davemccoy.

I wish you all the best too. You may see me around on STEEM for a while yet, though I am interested in seeing where HIVE goes, too. I guess as long as there are either of the chains to post on I should give both a shot. I don't know. This is not what I wanted, but I haven't been getting what I want for a while now. :) If it doesn't end up working in either place, not sure what to do after that.

Haven't heard what Splinterlands is doing. Haven't seen any news from them regarding the fork. Of course, it's only been a day. :)

Sort:  

Hey Glen, you are one that I definitely will miss. I do think that the bulk of the active people will go to the new chain, and I'm sure you will do well over there.

From the day we met, you were always someone that I felt gave great insight and thought to your words. You spent time on your comments to make me feel like you read and tried to understand my thoughts. We didn't always agree, but we did mostly agree (like 99.8%); so I think we would get along great if we lived in the same neighborhood. :)

I hope your new job (which isn't so new anymore) is going well and that the real life is keeping you busy, happy, and safe. Keep the virus out of your house!!!

As far as Splinterlands, they will take a wait and see approach as to what chain they operate on, but my guess is it won't be long til them move to the new one.

Again, I'm glad I got a chance to catch you in the event we don't communicate much in the future. You can always catch me on discord if you want to chat about anything. Also if I ever get over to your coast one day, I will still look you up and buy you lunch! :)

Take care Glen! And best of luck always in everything you do :)

Hey, @davemccoy.

I'd have to say that I've been surprised just how much we have agreed on so many things, not only about the general idea, but even the details, so yeah, we'd get along on the same street. :)

I'll take you up on the lunch, too. :)

As I mentioned, though, I will probably see what's going on STEEM for the interim, anyway, since a lot of time has been invested in it. I don't know that I'm as ready to let go as others are who feel so much stronger about the ninja mine, and less about the soft fork, as I have.

At this point, it falls on deaf ears to bring it up, but unfortunately, I don't think I will have to wait too long on the new chain to point towards some individual or group trying to take it over and make it their own fiefdom. Decentralization isn't code or a place—it's a way of life beating in the hearts and guiding the minds and souls of those who seek it. And I don't think most of us are truly there yet, even if we think we are. :)

As for Sun and TRON, I'm not sure what will happen, other than what they've been saying they will do publicly, which after the fork, they will have little reason not to. Fold everything that remains of STEEM into TRON. Of course, They Call Me Dan is on the case, and he is one of the very few whales that I would trust a majority of the time to do the right thing, and actually come out on top, so who knows, he may yet throw a Hail Mary miracle pass. If anything, it would be cool to stick around STEEM to see what happens with his cause. :)

So, I'm not saying a definite goodbye just yet, but since you've only lately been blogging and commenting again (at least outside of Splinterlands circles), it's felt like you had already moved on. Seems like I could say that about all of the 'old gang', most of whom were associated with the Engagement League.

Good times, good times. :)

I'm surprised to be the one that's still relatively active on the blogging side of things. I guess we'll have to see how much more I can stick to it in either place.

Working from bottom up...

I think you have a lot of things to say and are a natural blogger because you are a "thinker". I'm not surprised you've kept going at all, people like to talk with you and to also hear your thoughts on various topics.

As far as me moving on, it wasn't moving on as much as discouraged with the use of my time. I didn't join any other social networks and have no plans to. But I felt I was wasting my breath and came to the conclusion that nothing was going to change. (I was a bit wrong on that point) :D

As for Sun and TRON, I don't have issues with them like everyone else. I am also willing to see what he does and give him a benefit of the doubt and see how it plays out. I also have respect for @theycallmedan and while I don't know that many whales, he's one of the few that I saw that used his personal stake to try to help the regular people. I do hope he and a few others that are heavily invested find a solution that works, and whatever that form, I'm willing to bet it is better than the regime we grew up under.

The point about someone trying to control the new chain, I have no doubt that will happen. The same power players are involved in the new chain that oversaw the complete devastation of the best social blockchain that had new users signing up daily. I have no...absolutely no doubt, the same people will be the same pigs they were on the Steem chain for the last 2 1/2 years. (NOTE: not all of them were pigs, but the ones that weren't pigs didn't lift a finger to stop those there were)

In my opinion, the ninja mined steem is a red herring. If they don't take away @freedom and @pumpkin's stake along with many others, then that argument is just used as an excuse to fool the less informed/brainwashed. Re the softfork, I was disgusted by it at the time and still think it was a foolish move that was a combination theft and extortion.

And definitely I hope I find a way to cross your path and buy you that lunch. I think that would be a great time!!!

Finally, with change comes opportunity... So keep your eyes open and just be who you are. You will rise higher no matter which platform you choose, I have no doubt. ;)

Take care of yourself Glen, and hopefully our paths cross many more times in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43