You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Society: Bots and Technology Don't Build Communities... PEOPLE Do!

in #community7 years ago (edited)

This is why I've tried to make engagement in the chats a large part of my steemit activity, because most upvoting is done by bots and the rest is done by people who are looking for upvotes and followers, usually self interest at center stage. Steemit is all set up for awesome community building but without the chats, it's just SEO land.

Sort:  

Honestly, as a creative person with little IRL creative network/community in my current location, steemit and particularly its comments section have been such an exciting discovery for me. I have been constantly surprised and astounded by the level of engagement, respect, openness, creativity, and just "humanity" in the comments on steemit. It is such a different environment compared to what I am used to with conventional social media and internet forums. IMO steemit seems to engender a really healthy combination of community AND "competition", because its foundation incentivizes positive growth in what you AND others create and contribute. A truly symbiotic platform. I'm still trying to wrap my mind around it...

Well, this may help you wrap your head around it, some of it is BS! That’s not to say most of it is, I think people generally want to be civil and respectful but get pulled into polarized debates and angered by trolls, and monetization, while it does increase the amount of brown nosing, it also manages to curb a lot of the trolling and baiting, which is very nice for those of us who just want to SHARE rather than convince.

And I appreciate the engagement!

As you pointed out, if it were not for the discussions, this would just be SEO Land. Some (usually techy) type might ask "And what's wrong with that?"

On paper... nothing, EXCEPT for the fact that it's a limiting factor. Steemit would never grow beyond a hard-core center of people with developer and tech experience. Growing the community to become a world-spanning social platform requires people and interaction.

I tend to be a long-term participant. I don't care about the question "Will I make $5 tomorrow?" I care about the question "Will this community still be strong and striving in 2025 so I can be making $5 THEN?"

Haha you remember that!

Sorry for the late reply, too much engagement backlog. ;-P

I also ask the question, will someone who joins up after I did be able to make $5 or will all that potential go to the biggest fish? These questions hurt people’s heads though X-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57806.13
ETH 2453.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36