Rocky Mountain Steemit Camping Roles

in #community6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5739.JPG

We had our first Rocky Mountain Steemit Camping Trip! (See my announcement). We hung out in nature and got to know each other... and magically didn't talk crypto until the third day???? No one could have predicted that. Here are a couple of the other posts that other campers made:
@rebele's woodpecker
@intuitivejakob's puppy Jolie

Everyone who came filled some very specific roles within the temporary camping community that we built:

@rebele93- the Engineer

If something was forgotten, @rebele93 was able to rig something up to replace it. He had a ton of gear and experience to make the trip run smoothly!

Karen- the Mama Bear
@rebele93's wife (of 15 years- they celebrated their anniversary with us!) would often sit and chat, making sure everyone was comfortable.

@torico- The Firebug

Photo by @Torico

The nights were cold, but after Karen brought the firewood, @Torico spent her nights mucking about in the firepit. She was a vast source of information on how to best put the fire out, how to start the fire, and the best way to keep the fire going.

@intuitivejakob- The Gearhound

Jakob had all kinds of fun toys- walking sticks, vibram shoes, a sling to carry his puppy Jolie along on the hike. He's a man who knows what he needs!

@falseyedols- The Late Comer

I had my first opportunity to meet @falseyedols at the camping trip, and even though it was short, he was such a great addition!

Harmony- The Kid

Harmony was so sweet, innocent, and exuberant. She and her father came up towards the end of the trip, and she brought the energy level way up, simply by being there. My favorite quote from her: "This is the best camping trip ever!"

Jolie- the Diva

Little Jolie was not afraid to let her dad (@intuitivejakob) know when she wasn't happy- when the fire was popping, or when he was too far away from her. She loved having a lap to cuddle!

Charlie- the Happy Camper


Charlie wandered around the campsite, smiling even when she had literal burrs on her butt. While a little shy at first, she really enjoyed being around her humans for the entire trip.

Me-@sunravelme- The Organizer


I put the whole shindig together, but ultimately, could not have done it without everyone else! What a fun trip, and thank you to everyone who made it out!


Words are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

next trip I will need to branch out and do something other than take photos and tend fires. the trip was good for my soul. i'm hoping we get another shot at a campsite with trees, water we can swim in, tents that don't turn into kites, and firepits that don't need to be dug out. I wouldnt snub something that had showers or electric... so much for being hard core.

that's middle class camping ;)

ikr? i should sleep in bear caves and rip raw flesh from bones of a rabbit no doubt. a return to my heathen roots..

hahaha :)

Yaaaaaas so when is the next trip??!!

my landlord has me busy most of july and august. so unless its soon its unlikely that I can go unless its lucky timing

Hey @sunravelme, I loved our long weekend!

Thank you so much for everything you did to plan our success. We sure did manage to stay busy!

I love the photos and writeups about who did what! Got a roar out of this one.

The Diva is beside me snuggling it up here. I will have to show her the lovely closeup of her in her little hut. lol

I want to snuggle the diva! She is the perfect lap dog!

You can snuggle her anytime! Come over again and play with the Push 2 and Jolie-boo!

That looks like a fabulous time with wonderful Steemians! I like how you gave each person a spotlight.

Thank you! It was really fun to get to know everyone. We have a pretty close knit group of steemians here in Colorado

Sounds like a great trip! I haven't been camping in too long... Would be cool to meet up with some Steemians some time.

There are a ton of meetups all the time- or you might start one of your own! It's taken a few months, but we have a really solid group here in Colorado.

The rockies look incredible. Hmmm maybe an adventure of my own through one day. Great post BTW

Come visit and meet up with everyone!

Looks like an amazing time. Next time I hope that me and mine can come. This would have been a bad trip as the 1 1/2 year old is very into zippers. I could just see him waking and deciding to go explore someone else's tent. (That's the best case. He could always just walk off into the night too.)

That sounds like the best time ever, but I don't have kids so maybe I shouldn't judge haha!

What?! This is so cool, I love that you guys are using steemit to find new backpacking buddies. Rad.

Steemit meetups are the best way to meet people! We are quite the motley crew!

Just listening to you on discord talking about the planets you could see. Sounds a great experience to share with your daughter.

@falseyedols I do believe this was directed at you!

Thank you for redirecting. It was a very late night for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85