SteemSavvy Member Spotlight - @The-Sports-Nerd

in #community5 years ago

Member Spotlight (5).png

Steem has been called the blockchain of opportunity!

And for very good reason. You can literally take any passion, any business or any niche...And BUILD here. Whether it's building a business, an app or a community...We've got all the tools needed to expand the blockchain.

But what can Steem provide for the every day user?

Let me introduce you to a guy I've known for years...And someone who is your everyday, hard working man...That has a DEEP passion! He's not a coder. He's not a marketer. He's not a business man.

He just LOVES to talk...Sports!

And his passion shines through each and every Sunday night on STEEM....And wants to share that passion with the world.

He chose Steem to do that with!

Ladies and gentlemen, meet Scott....

A.K.A. @The-Sports-Nerd


1. Share with readers a history of the Sports Nerd and your brand.



The Sports Nerd Brand began around 2011 while I was in the online marketing industry. A really good friend of mine Bob Pizor, who shared my love of NFL Football, and whom I had known for nearly 10 years at the time and I decided we would try doing a live web show and talk about sports for a couple of hours.

We added a third member, Robert Arnold and we began broadcasting in August of 2011. I hemmed and hawed over what to call the show and it was decided that The Sports Nerds fit perfectly. I took on the brand the Sports Nerd as a result and advertised the show and my brand in the industry and after using several different platforms and adding and losing some people, it has become what it is today.

Four, sometimes five friends that met on the internet, including yourself (@JonGOlson) , getting together Sunday nights and talking about sports, pop culture, online business and wherever the conversation takes us.

It has been a blast, I have made practically NO money doing it, and I really don’t care, because I do it because I love it and would not have it any other way.

2. How did you discover STEEM and your adventures into crypto?


You introduced me to Steem a little over a year ago, and I was intrigued by it’s potential, even though I didn’t even understand how it worked. I have been hooked ever since and even though I have been here over a year, I am still getting my feet wet, trying to balance my real job during the week and trying to create content through the blockchain.

3. You use a few applications with your STEEM content, from @Vimm to @Dtube ….Which is your favourite and why?



I use Zoom and OBS, along with Vimm.TV to broadcast the show. Posting to the blog I use the @Steempress plug-in on my WordPress blog. I like using Zoom most, because of its simplicity and the fact I am comfortable with it due to the fact the company I work for offline also uses Zoom for videoconferencing and instant messaging. I also enjoy using Discord and am a member of several groups, including the SteemSaavy group.

But for the live show, it's @Vimm for sure!

4. What would be your number one tip for new people coming into SteemSavvy and the Steem blockchain?



The number one tip I would give new people is don’t try and understand all of it, be open and take the advice of all of the vets that are around you. Enroll in Steem Saavy, do the courses, and if you don’t understand a course, take it again until you do.

Install and join discord and get involved, be here every day, and get to know people. As mentioned above, I am still dragging my heels a bit, but from what I have seen from those that have succeeded, that is what you need to do, cause it will help you in the long run.

5. Sports is obviously your passion…How important is the sports niche to STEEM and what kind of future do you see for sports related content on the blockchain?



Sports IS my passion, and has been for most of my life. It's why the Sports Nerds got started, and why we continue to do this show after nearly 8 years. I firmly believe the sports niche is important to Steem because it can draw a lot of Sports fans to the platform, and that is a large group that has not yet seen any significant growth within Steem. There are a few Sports related accounts out there on Steem, but none that I have seen that provide an opinionated platform such as what I bring to the table.

I hope to eventually change that, because I feel that I am truly capable of driving the conversation, I just need to find that work-life balance that will allow me to take it to its full potential.


Thanks for rocking with us this week Scott!

It goes with out saying, I appreciate you man and can't wait for this Thursdays live stream covering the NFL Draft.

There is a huge market for sports and love that you are working to bring that passion to Steem. Here's to another decade of the Sports Nerd show lol

As being featured as the Savvy Steemian in this week's member spotlight, I've sent you 25 Steem Power delegation. That's yours until you tell me you don't want it!

Be sure to follow Scott on Steem as well as on SteemSavvy! This is one of the good guys online for sure :)

Untitled design (33).png

Sort:  

Nice to meet you Scott! We are following different sports, but we have SteemSavvy as common thing... :)

Great interview both of you.. Keep up Steeming!

Thanks man, I'm trying to get him into 'real' football...But he's stubborn lol

Great to see Scott on Steem and involved with SteemSavvy as well.

You should check out his show on Sundays it is a blast.

Again welcome to Steem Scott.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Must watch content :) But we're biased lol

Thanks @jongolson!! appreciate the promotion and attention. 2019 will be the year of The Sports Nerds in the Sports niche on Steem. Looking forward to breaking new ground and talking a lot of sports. Thursday's show will only be the beginning...

Thanks for rocking with us this week man. Appreciated all your insight and feedback on the interview!

Thank you sir! Appreciate the comments and support.

Congratulation dude.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @steemsavvy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great opportunity to bring an active community to the ecosystem! I also think that sports is a low hanging fruit given all the incentives that can be created here with SMTs and other forms.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree....So much potential in that niche. Glad to see Scott taking action and creating a brand here.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37