Steemit Meetup in DublinsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #community7 years ago (edited)

We had a great evening on Saturday at another @steem-dublin meetup here in Dublin.

September Meetup

It was great to meet The Model Maker @mitchhunter for the first time and catch up with other Steemit friends.



@mitchhunter @ammonite @deirdyweirdy @robbieretard @demotruk @eroche

@steem-dublin

The aim of Steem Dublin is to promote Steemit, and in particular Irish authors and artists who wish to get started on Steemit. We initially have been supporting them with votes and resteems but facilitating a regular meetup gives people the opportunity to chat and discuss with like minded people face to face.

Activity in Ireland

There has been a clear growth in the number of posts from Ireland in recent months. It is very reassuring that the community in Ireland is growing, @steem-dublin is currently following 222 people. A diverse array of content is being produced; from sand sculptures to drone photography.

There are also authors running competitions and other initiatives;

  • @rickyjrx runs a weekly Photography Challenge "#rickysphotochallenge"
  • I run a monthly Travel/Culture challenge "#culturevulture".
  • @paulag runs a weekly Business Intelligence Challenge. Check out the "#bisteemit" tag for more on this and other posts from the community she has created.
  • @woman-onthe-wing runs a regular food challenge, which I warn you will make you hungry so maybe grab a bite before checking out this at "#steemitculinarychallenge"
  • Have you checked out @beanz on the weekly @votu podcast?

This is some interesting stuff and just a few examples of how Irish Authors are contributing to Steemit.

Follow @steem-dublin for updates about future meetups in Dublin and for promotion of some great content.

Steemfest

There are already 3 people confirmed going from Ireland to Steemfest in Portugal, @beanz, @demotruk and me @eroche. @fiveboringgames and @ishtar are possibilities.

Will you join us?

Check out the latest post by @roelandp if you want more information on the lineup for Steemfest

Next Meetup

There will be a meetup in Dublin on 28th of October. It's likely to be at 6pm in the Duke Pub but that is to be confirmed. Please let us know if you would be happier to attend earlier in the day and if a Cafe would suit better. It can be hard to find a quiet cafe on a Saturday in Dublin city center but an earlier time in the Duke might suit more people better.

We plan to have a regular meetup on the last Saturday of the month. Save the date. Hope to see you there!

Previous Meetups

For pictures from previous meetups check out

August Meetup
July Meetup
June Meetup

Thanks for reading and thanks to all that attended.
@eroche

Sort:  

Great to be there and thanks for the pub grub. Pity i had to leave early as it was a great getting to know @mitchhunter s work.. nice to discover another sculptor on Steemit.

I hope next time you will stay longer. Want to learn more about your techniques. Your sand sculptures look amazing.

Thank you. Yes would love to chat more. Im also very interested in 3d printing and the equipment you use.

I really enjoyed the evening. It was good to see you guys again and to meet you @mitchhunter.

It was nice to meet you too, you were all very welcoming. Looking forward for next one.

It was good seeing you all, and nice to meet you @mitchhunter. You have a very interesting line of work.

It was nice to meet you too. Thanks for interesting chat and invitation to steem dublin community.

such a pity I was unable to make it. Next time I will be there. Dont think I will be going to steemitfest so will rely on you guys to share all the info

So disappointed I couldn't make it such a pity . With having the new arrival to the family in the house recently. I was unable to make it. Next time I will be there for definate I really enjoyed the last one..

Congrats on the new arrival.

Was gutted I couldn't make it but definitely next time!

I would like meeting to be early as I have to get a 9pm bus home. I would like to learn more about crypto currency, steemit and so on. Earlier may not suit anyone but that's just me... I really enjoyed the last meeting I learned so much

I'm located in Carrick in Shannon, but will try to be there as well :-)

yay! good to see more meetings going on! :)

@teamhumble it would be awesome if you came over for one. after knowing you online a few years now, it be nice to put a face to the name

i'd love that. would be good to put names to faces. best part of online is that person to person. got a few things on my plate right now but could happen early next year for definite. i could go and visit my dads side of the family at the same time! :)

awesome. I have been to a couple of these meet ups. Its fun meeting people that you deal with on a regular basis online. I didnt know you had irish family

yep. i'm a campbell, not scottish, family is from dungannon, at least my dads side, my mum is from england. so i'm a mutt ;) - remember carrying my dads mum to the cemetery. remember childhood of doors always open, big family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97