Building A Blockchain Community in Malaysia - with Bitrocker2020

in #community6 years ago (edited)

bitrocker2020_thumbnail.png

I am @bitrocker2020


It's been awhile since someone last asked me to write an introduction post! However it has been a year of firsts on the Steem Blockchain.

Over the past year, I've been part of an amazing community called TeamMalaysia , it was started around July 2017 and we've grown the community to close to about 1,500 authors who are all active writers apps like on Steemit.

I am also running as a witness on this amazing blockchain as its important that witnesses actively maintain the blockchain as well as grow its user base. One then, Steem will continue to flourish and be filled with amazing authors.


My actual name is Simon !


A lil bit about myself, I'm now a full time Steemian who does almost everything within and around the blockchain. Being in Malaysia, this is possible as the cost of living is not as high as compared to most urban cities.

What I used to do ?


I've been in the Information Technology scene for close to 25 years ( not stating that I'm old ) and have done programming, technical, sales, managed companies and also run digital marketing campaigns.

Having done many boring corporate stuff at the earlier part of my existence, I decided to dedicate my life into helping those within my reach by educating and equipping those who are interested to learn with knowledge which I have gained thru my experiences. One of the first communities which I grew part of was with Google as one of their first Google Business Groups Managers.


1466097_10152023249886287_2040539366_n.jpg


And seeing that being able to help many others by sharing the things we are passionate about, it made me realized that this was achievable with growing the communities for the Steem Blockchain as well. So in July 2017, just less then 2 months after getting my account on Steemit. I started running events to grow the Steem community in Malaysia.

The journey is an exciting one as we get to meet all sorts of individuals with so many different hobbies and passion. In less then 6 months, we in TeamMalaysia grew very fast and it was great to see and converse with the communities.


tm.jpg


Summary about me


So those who feels that you are alone in your locality and think that you want to startup a community ? I'd say just go ahead and do it. Don't wait around for the perfect moment as it may never come. YOLO " You Only Live Once " ... make the most of it and never regret

Thanks to @sndbox for letting me post a lil introduction about myself.

Cheers and have a great day. If you like what I'm doing for the Steem community, do vote on my witness @bitrocker2020


This post was authored by @bitrocker2020, a steward of the sndbox incubator. Learn more, follow @bitrocker2020 or begin a conversation in the comment section below.


bitrocker2020_footer.png


Empower artists, writers, musicians, non-profits and community initiatives - delegate Steem Power to @sndbox (using the links below) or follow our curation trail. Learn more about Sndbox - watch our introduction, here.

arrow-01.png
arrow-02.png
arrow-03.png
arrow-04.png
arrow-05.png
arrow-06.png
arrow-07.png
100
250
500
1k
2k
5k
10k
Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and our magazine The Creative Crypto / @creativecrypto



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sndbox.blog/building-a-blockchain-community-in-malaysia-with-bitrocker2020/

Sort:  

Thanks for that introduction, @bitrocker2020! Through these publications I have realized the amount of good things being done in the world to get steemit going. I like your enthusiasm and your practical way of taking risks. As you rightly say, suddenly the country, your environment, allows you to live without less pressure than other people. From your publication I stopped to see a constant in each of the people who have passed through here and is to have a dream, ideas, desire to do different things: get out of their comfort zone and take risks. Nobody says it's easy, but if we take the first step, it will be faster! Thanks to @sndbox for sharing.

This is AMAZING! people like you are why Steemit is as big as it is today! You alone have helped bring over a thousand people together! I love reading posts like this because it helps to solidify my idea, Steem is only going to get bigger and the connections people are making will only grow stronger!

You are an inspiration! Follow and an upvote from me!

Yo Simon there, nice to meet you finally lol.

haha .. cheers buddy ! was a great catchup !

any pro tips about organizing a community :) ? our Romanian community is kind of in energy saving mode and I'm wondering how to wake them up.

awesome !! thanks @sndbox .. really appreciate it

keep it up

A Great Sifu, Rocker and bro! haha

Learned so much from u and still learning, kudos

Excellent work for the communities, good work, @sndbox.

Hi @sndbox!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.483 which ranks you at #155 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 144).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #19.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Awesome ! 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82