Why I should and why I shouldn't be delegated 500 sp to curate LGBTQ content

in #community6 years ago (edited)

@sykochica has offered to delegate 500 sp to two people to help promote the LGBTQ community on steemit.

Here is my post about why I think I will be a good choice, and why I think I won't be a good choice.

What's your relationship with the LGBTQAI community? (member, ally, etc)

I identify as genderfluid bisexual. I'm AMAB (assigned male at birth) and I've been on a journey of self discovery that has led me to where I am today, breaking free of the shackles of the gender society has assigned to me, and attempting to be attentive to myself as to my needs and decisions.

What can be done to bring more LGBTQAI people to Steemit?

LGBTQAI people are people, anything that will bring anyone to Steemit will bring more LGBTQAI people to Steemit. We're not special in this regard. What can be done to make Steemit more comfortable? Making sure that there are not hate topics posted under the relevant tags. Going to read up on trans* people's experiences, and encountering a transphobic post is going to wreck someone's day. At the very least, make sure that the ratio of supportive to hateful posts remains strongly towards the supportive.

Why I would be a good choice?

I like to learn and I like to read about people's experiences. I like to offer support and I like to help guide people if I can. I think a lot about many different issues, and would love to have fruitful discussions on many subjects.

Why I would not be a good choice?

I'm privileged to the max. I pass as a man in a patriarchal society. I'm the equivalent of white in my country. I have suffered very, very little transphobia and nothing concerning my sexuality at all. My family and friends are all supportive of me, and there has not been a single person in my life that even flinched when I told them I'm bisexual or genderqueer. Well, there is my grandfather, but we've hardly ever been close. And even he just stared at my painted nails for an hour.

I am not oppressed and therefore don't seek a sense of community for the sake of belonging. I only seek community for knowledge.

Sort:  

Another reason why you would be a good choice: you're been using the delegation from me very well. But again - I am biased. <3

Thanks for this post, @poet. It was good to get to know you better, and I'm glad you got some delegation as well! Love your honesty, and your willingness to help others. I'm glad you haven't had to deal with much oppression / rejection. That's really nice to hear. (I did laugh a little thinking of your grandfather staring at your painted nails.) Keep being you. I look forward to more of your posts! :)

Thanks, I intend to :)

Woohoo! Congrats on receiving some Steem Power! Let's put it to good use. Thanks for sharing your story with us, I can't even imagine what it must be like to have so much incredible support all around you - wow!

Honesty. Nice. Rare (for hopefully not much longer).

Love the otter too, btw. That's the native american zodiac animal for the sign of Aquarius, which is the season we're in at the moment. Not sure if you knew that or not, but it was a very good call.

Completely unintentional

Intuitive selection, then. Well done.

wall nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67411.34
ETH 3684.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75