Advice for Community Building on Steemit, a step by step approach.

in #community7 years ago

This is one of my passions her on Steemit, it's one big community and the best part of steemit in my opinion. I love engaging with everyone, learning and making friends. That's something I'm always saying and reflecting on in any of my new user or advice posts if you've followed them. Don't come here just for rewards and don't make that your goal or focus here.

Well recently I've stumbled upon at post by @jist about building a woodworking community here on steemit and I volunteered to offer advice, so I hope this helps them and anyone else thinking of starting a community here on steemit.


From @jist's post.

I think I should start with my community credentials

I may not be the super expert, like mr @aggroed who started the minnow support project, which is by far the biggest and most supportive community here on steemit, But I am a member of it..lol. I'm also an active member of the teamcanada and teamaustralia communities within the minnow support project. I am also one of the leading members of the steemsilvergold community. I'm a member of thealliance community and the veterans community here as well. I'm likely spread a bit thin, but communities are my passion and wish I could be in more, if only there was more time. Anyways I've seen a bit of what works and what seams to help the most. By all means please anyone else with ideas feel free to add the the post in the comments as well, this is only my opinion and experience.


Source

What's a Community

I'm no dictionary so this is just my definition pertaining to steemit, but it's simply a group of people with a common interest and goal. SteemSilverGold is all about precious metal stacking and investing. Thealliance is about promoting quality content creation within steemit. TeamCanada is a community to help and befriend fellow Canadians on Steemit. Woodworking is going to be about woodworking.

It can be about anything, any interest, any reason. I think there are many opportunities to start book club, a craft community, a community around an online game or even having a beard. Anything!

Humans like to assemble in communities and belong, or so someone's research says! I read it one time.

Anyways I'm going to lay it out in steps, but it's only for dividing the content, please don't think it needs to happen like this.


Source

Step 1- Start a tag or name your community

The stackers are called steemsilvergold, so that's our community or tag. Looks like the woodworkers are using woodworking, plain and simple, it doesn't have to be complicated or fancy but it's the one place or tag people are going to start searching for that content related to that topic or community. So just start by naming your community and tag and getting it out there. It may take a while to grow and it may always stay small and niche, but at least you found your friends with similar interest.

Step 2 - Start a Discord Server

I think this is key! Discord is an amazing tool, it gives everyone a chance to connect in real time, chat and really make those stronger friendships and bonds. It really starts giving it a community feel. I'm always checking for my friends over on discord to get a chat going it really builds that stronger sense of community. Discord is great since you can make channels within your server, have some static posts and links there so people can find some further information and background or instructions quickly.

Step 3- Start a curation/group account

I think it helps to have a group account, maybe with a few (trustworthy) members having the keys, or go it alone. You can post some group activity and group details in that. You can use it to resteem group posts and follow all group members. This serves many purposes, most people will follow that one group account if they don't always follow each other so you'll have the chance to promote each others content more by resteeming. I'd suggest only resteeming 1-2 posts/day, otherwise it could get to be too much and get you an unfollow. This account can also post a 'best of' or 'second chance' or 'hidden treasure' post every week or whatever you chose to help promote members content. It can also cast votes for members which is a nice bonus, sometimes people may delegate or donate to this account to give better votes to each other and you can automate it or whatever you choose along the way. The last reason is that the "following list" on this account will be your membership list, and it's super fast to scroll through the list and click 'follow' and someone new to steemit or new to the community can quickly follow every other member of the community.


Source

Step 4 - Keep a list, Go recruiting.

I think it's valuable to keep a list of members or some procedure to join, it gives that extra layer of belonging. Start by taking everyone who says they are interested then figure out a new system as you grow and determine who you want in your community. You also need to do some recruiting so check related tags for people with similar content and invite them tell then what your doing. Of course it would be great to get a whale or witness to help out, but it doesn't always work out. Post and encouraged members to post recruiting posts, people will come, it just takes time. You can also start looking beyond steemit. If your already established in a woodworking community on Facebook, or Instagram or Reddit or some woodworking forum out there, tell them what your doing here on steemit and recruit them. It can be hard, but the more motivated ones will come, and sometimes it's very slow, but it's worth a try.


Source

Step 5 - Run contests/Give people content ideas/events

Contests are a great way to have fun and build community. It doesn't have to be elaborate or expensive. Give away the SBD from a post and you won't be out anything, or pick a set amount it doesn't matter. To me the best contests are ones that give people something to post about. Not everyone has a huge list on there wall of stuff to post about, so they are happy to make a contest post. It doesn't even need to be a contest, just a event or content idea for that week. I'm going to drop a few for the woodworking guys because it's in my head. Maybe do a 'tour of the shop' week. A favorite project post or your unfinished or dream project. Tell the story of your worst shop accident. Tell why you got into woodworking. These are all fun ideas and also helps to get to know each other within the community.

You can always make a recap post from the curation/group account and then have everyone vote on a favorite if you doing a contest. These are all great ways to add content to a tag. This can also be a lot of work, so be prepared and it's always best to have a team.

I think from this point your pretty much an established community. Of course step 4 and 5 are constantly ongoing and there's always more to do.

From then on I think things will continue to grow organically and you'll get feedback from everyone what they want to be doing and posting about. You can also start reaching out to the steemit community at large and giving back. Heck maybe your group wants to sell or give-away cutting boards with a steem logo. Maybe you want to fund raise to support a cause, or help start and promote other communities here on steemit. The possibilities are endless and only the sky is the limit, so many people are pushing the envelope of what can be done here and how steemit can be used, but most of all have fun!

Hope this was helpful and please add and continue the conversation in the comments.


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Excellent advice, I found the tips on recruiting and the competition ideas especially useful. We have a lot of work to do in the woodworking community but we are off to a flying start and you have saved us time and energy by pointing us in the right direction. The Woodworking community salutes you sir.

Hey man, I'm really glad you found it helpful. I think your doing a great thing starting a community. I'll follow you guys and look for ways to continue to help and contribute and please reach out to me if you need anything else.

Thanks again, I will be in touch soon.

Cool idea! I am interested, and I resteemed this post.

I'm new to both Steemit and "stacking", and I have learned a lot following you. Thanks @phelimint

These are some ideas i was thinking about doing, its nice to have a visual list to look at. Super important article to small fish like myself, thank you very much for the article @phelimint

A very good advice for people who want's to build a community here on steemit.

This is great and I am not even new here, but, I learned a few things. Thank you! tip!

  • From just reading the beginning I agree, I tend to focus more on content than the results, good product sells itself.

This is awesome. I’ve been thinking about a sneaker heads community or a tennis community. These are awesome ideas.

Hi @phelimint! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Thanks! It is a good advice for minnow!

filthy-stinking-thieves.jpg

Rewards Pool Farmer Alert

check out the comments section of @ryacha21 above. (https://steemit.com/@ryacha21/comments)

He is leasing 30k SP from @minnowbooster then using that to VOTE Up his own 7 Day old comments on random posts at the last minute. Scroll his comments to around the 6 day mark or just go to https://steemd.com/@ryacha21; he has a lot of self love on his own old comments.

HE IS DOING IT OVER AND OVER AND OVER.. He is farming the pool.. If you could help it would be appreciated..

Learn more about this sack of monkey spunk here:

https://steemit.com/shitpost/@pawsdog/the-shit-post-diaries-1-17-18-4

Also kinda a dick move to use the actual good post of another person to post a comment for no other reason to come back and farm it later.

Post Author, @phelimint I do apologize.. This dude makes no actual articles of his own so the only way to draw attention to what he is doing is to comment his comments. My sincerest apologies for cluttering up your blog, outing the abusive self voting behavior of @ryacha21

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42