Steemit Community Etiquette on Discord

in #community6 years ago

For some time now I have been plagued with constant messages on Discord from random people I have never held discussions with on Steemit or within a Discord Community on Steemit.  In fact I have had my profile set to DO NOT DISTURB for some time now, yet these messages don’t seem to let up.

Check out this message I received this morning

  

This person didn’t even bother to look at my profile picture, unless of course I am a lot more butch than I though.  Do I look like a man to you?

This is a daily occurrence and I know I am not the only one.  From requests for delegated SP to ‘please send me SBD my father is ill and needs medicine’, to’ vote for my post now’ with a link.

I do like to help.  I also like to believe I am known in discord for helping people, putting them on the right track, showing support, offering guidance and rewarding steemains for making changes and improvements.

Maybe it is a cultural thing, maybe I am losing patients, but it’s time to address this issue.  So I have prepared some guidelines and Etiquette for when you are on Discord.

Steemit Community Discord Guidelines and Etiquette

1. Communities have a general chat.  It may have a slightly different name depending on the community, but this is where you go to start taking with people.  General chat is open to a lot of conversation from Steemit to other stuff.  It’s a place to hang out and get to know other people in the community.

2. General Chat is not a place to put links to your posts.  This is SPAM.

3. General Chat is not a place to beg for votes or follows or even SP delegation, although you can ask question’s about the topics.

 

The image above was taken directly from the blockchainbi general chat……DO NOT DO THIS.

4. Communities tend to have a post promotion channel.  This is the only place you should put links.  Putting links elsewhere without the approval of the admin or mods will get you a bad reputation.

5. Do not send private messages (AKA DMs) to people that you have had no interaction with.  By this I mean if you have not had a discussion with someone on discord in the server, do not send them a DM.  If you want to DM someone that you have not DM before, then you should ask them if it is okay on the server.  Do NOT send them a DM asking if it is OK to DM them.  Keep things public unless you get permission to go private.

6. Respect Privacy.  If someone has DO NOT DISTURB set…then guess what….DO NOT DISTRUB.

7. DO NOT send links to your post to people unless they have said it is okay.  If you do then YOU ARE A SPAMMER.

8. DO NOT ask for money, STEEM or SBD

9. DO NOT ask people to Follow for Follow

10. DO NOT ask people to upvote for upvote

11. DO NOT be offensive to people

12. DO NOT be insulting to people

13. DO offer help and guidance to others within the communities 

14. DO answer questions with reasonable care when others need help – those that give also receive.

So from here on in, any unsolicited contact and spam I receive on discord will be sent a reply with a link to this post.  If you are experiencing the same, feel free to direct them here.

I really want to be able to help people, to add value, provide advice and support, but many worthy people are not getting my attention because of the levels of spam.  If you have been sent this link then you are spamming and you need to change before you get a very bad reputation.  Take this as a piece of advice and learn from it.  If you are not willing to learn you will not grow and will get no help from me.

If you think I have left anything out, then please do comment below

STEEM ON - UPVOTE - RESTEEM and FOLLOW


Sort:  

Sometimes I will find their profile and downvote them for this.

lol dont blame you. I havent been this harsh yet.....im really trying to help people and change their behaviors, but it does not seem to be working

May I lend you "my" reaction gif for whenever I'm called "sir" or "bro"?

And that etiquette applies to steemit.chat too.. It's so tiring after a while.

lol love this......maybe I should use it, thanks for the share, it will be funny

Saya suka dengan reaksi anda ketika dipanggil bro..he..he.he..

You are speaking from my heart! I tend to just ignore such requests, blocking them would be too much already 😕

I have probably been feeding a little more than I should, as I have been trying to help, but its just got way out of control now. Thanks for stopping by

Fortunately I haven't been addressed that much by random discord users, but I'm reminded now how I should handle it if it happens more often. I'm here to create, not spread myself too thin :O

I'm OK with links so long as they're relevant.

You got a 1.86% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @themarkymark!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

I absolutely I understand this feeling. I have just 900 sp and the number of private messages I get from Facebook, WhatsApp and discord users is just crazy. Now I'm wondering, if I get this type of disturbance for 900 sp, what will happen when I hit 5000 sp?

Well the problem is not the constant messages from different people, the problem is that most good people with good contents don't like spamming because they don't spam, they end up getting ignored and go unseen.

Spammers gets most the attention and sometimes the attention they get is out of pity.

oh I have given pity attention too. which is a shame beacuse as you point out, good content gets left behind. Last night I actually asked someone to send me their post, and they refused. Told me if I got it in my feed or searches then good but they dont like to send links. This steemain is an awesome steemain, and only 2 months on the platform and I have missed may of his posts because of spam.

I agree with you, write well but no reward

I have just 900 sp and the number of private messages I get from Facebook, WhatsApp and discord users is just crazy.

Ha!
I knew, I just knew, that there was somewhere some-kind advantage of having low steem-power LOL ;-)

‘please send me SBD my father is ill and needs medicine’

OMG! Is this a thing that is really happening?

E0EE5470-A0B1-4EDB-BD43-B4FBBB6ED621.jpeg

thank you very much for the information @paulag, very useful for me.

I agree! So simple yet many are not following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57517.13
ETH 3013.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35