You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Revisiting 50/50 curation

in #community5 years ago (edited)

(Why isn't 25% (or even 10%, 5%) enough?) How about i vote sell, self vote or mine a different crypto / invest elsewhere to make my ROI and pay the author of the post directly in liquid steem for the reading enjoyment? Like in real life:)
Forgive me if i didn't fully understand what you wrote. that's how i read it.

Sort:  

The point I was making was why isn't 25% enough. In other venues we receive nothing as a reward for consuming others work. Why is there a push here for the creator/author to give up more of their reward for the consumers of their product?

There are many posts weekly I curate that involved many hours of research on the part of the author. I don't understand the mindset that I should be rewarded even higher than I am now at their expense for benefiting from their work.

There has been much talk about lack of quality content here (although I find more than I have the ability to upvote) and paying the quality content producers less seems a sure way to not only discourage more from coming, but be the reason some who are already here leave.

The creator of the product deserves more than an equal share than their audience, imo.

EDIT: I agree authors should get more $. just not sure about the way to. Guess my push is because i have bought more steem then i should have, It complicates my voting decisions. i have an account with 2000 SP which i use to upvote comments on my post, i really don't care if i get zip from it, to me that's easy, give it all to the authors:) What is the other platform that you mentioned? Might look at how they do it, including how much $ people have actually put in themselves. Might help me understand something i'm just not getting.

The other website that was mentioned was called smoke. Here is the information I found on it.

https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/smoke/

I'm not sure how it is an investment at this point as there does not seem to be any exchanges carrying it. According to a post I did maybe 2 months ago, to get a token listed on Binance costs around 2 million I think it was. The market cap valuation seems to be $907,458.00, not even half that cost. Not sure how one puts money in, maybe they buy direct from the site?

Sorry you feel you put to much money in at this point here. It has been a long downward spiral for crypto in general, and Steem has been hit harder than many. I believe it has to do with some of the dysfunction we see from Steemit that has added to that. I am optimistic that since the layoff at Steemit, more activity from programmers and stakeholders of means has increased which will usher in more apps and programs that will help not only offset some of the bad rap from this site, but increase activity and demand for Steem itself. Here is a site I think breaks this down fairly. I would ask you pay attention to the high marks it gives to the app side possibilities.

https://cryptobriefing.com/steem-digital-asset-report-token-review/

Regardless of what happens with the 50/50, and this site itself I believe in the chain. It has demonstrated a real use application, more have followed

https://www.stateofthedapps.com/rankings

Notice we have 4 of the top 10, and it was 5 until Drugwars pulled their bait and switch which will see them topple in the coming weeks from that number one spot.

Sorry for rambling. I hope that whatever you decide to do with your stake leads you to an outcome you are thankful for.

Wow, you went out of your way to get me this information, How can i not give 100%. Thank you will research later. EDIT: Thought's: i found that easy to press 100%, Didn't think about what i would get back from it as far as $, you gave me directly what i was looking for, i did think about just sending you liquid steem instead though, as i need all the VM i can to keep my charity, sympathy and vote swapping commitments going lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66