Creative Acts of Joy: A Month Long Challenge/Contest 25SBD

in #community7 years ago (edited)


WP_20150510_18_53_32_Pro.jpg This is a creative act from my lil hood. I took this photo

Truthfully, I love street art (and even graffiti). But this is NOT a graffiti challenge. NOTE: DO NOT GET ARRESTED FOR THIS CHALLENGE. DO NOT SUBMIT GRAFFITI. PLZ K THNKS BAI

However this is a street art challenge.

The backround:

One day, after sweatin' and silently grumblin through another sh!t day as a retail pawn I went to the park instead of straight home. The air was fresh, the sky was percievably blue, and then I saw this image:

(let it load.. its worth the wait imo)
IMG_1562.JPG
I decided to make it a challenge/contest. Yay?!

steampunkline2.png

The Rules:

  1. Create something that can be moderatly sustainable in a place with traction in
    your nieghborhood or home that aims to inspire joy in others.
    It can be a set silly pictures, a random limmerick on a wall, free art,
    a free pop-up performance of happy/silly music,
    or a beautiful chalk mural with free flowers.

Let your imagination be your guide

  1. Take pics or video and make sure your steemit ID is visible.

  2. Resteem this post. No upvote required but we need to spread the news.

  3. Use #creativeactsofjoy and comment your entry on this post.

  4. You have less than one month to finalize. On Dec. 1 we will start judging entries

I will also give 2 SBD to the first 5 people who complete this challenge and enter.

We will use a 5 <3 scale. You will be judged on:

  1. Originality
  2. Technical quality of art/music/photog/writing
  3. Heart (meaning how much it moved the judges)
  4. Element of surprise

Highest avg hearts wins. Ties will be broken by live voting in Discord area TBD

This is open to everyone including frenemies. :D


The Esteemed Judges:

@poeticsnake
@juliakponsford
@artsygoddess
@topkpop

This contest has been made possible with the support of @crimsonclad and @theminnowsupportproject

If you would like to add to the contest prize please DM on discord!

have some beautifully loud gif art by @poeticsnake
girlll.gif

Please also consider to vote for our honorary witnesses: @patrice and @followbtcnews
#teamgirlpowa
(https://discord.gg/mVMZfuR)

Sort:  
Thanks for attending Thursday’s Pimp Your Post Thursday @limabeing. I have written a post to share your featured post from last night. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your [name in lights](https://steemit.com/pypt/@shadowspub/pimp-your-post-thursday-report-4-from-nov-9th-pypt) right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

Hey Lima

Let me see if I can get my old stenciling stuff out and go and spread some
老外爱爱在北京里

I love this idea.

I will try to think of something non-graffiti to do!

Really nice topi and the other one also. I will try to participate in both. For this one for sure. I was a graffiti writer back in 2000 so this sounds good. I will paste up some canvases in the city painted with spray cans

Dude do you have any pictures of your graff art? I am thinking you were probably pretty good :)

Erp that was me leaving the @humanbot comment, forgot who or what I was logged in as LOL

Love it! And that is a nice piece with the flowers. This is the good graf i like to see 😎

Yaaay. P.s im told you also love cats! Im kitty caarraazzzy lol

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

look like special offer A Month Long Challenge/Contest 25SBD,
thank-you2.jpg

Wao! Amazing, I would like to participate but.. My art is just like hell.

Cool it is always good to spread art and love and the local neighborhood is the best place to start :) I will think on this a bit and see if I can't come up with something. Maybe make a driftwood sculpture to hang in a tree :) Much love - Carl

Graffiti is illigal, otherwise its street art.

Dear @skeptic,
I read your comment and just wanted to react on that, because I think it's more complex and can't be generalised.
Mainly both art forms make art in situ, in the public space, so it's easily accessible for everyone. That's the whole idea and true meaning of graffiti, street art and/or urban art in general.In fact, both of them have legal and illegal practices. Or to be more specific, both have guerilla actions, we can label as illegal.
Banksy for example, who proceeds in the same way as the graffiti artists, anonymous and often operates at night. Pure vandalism, you could say (and they did in the beginning of his career), but at the same time it's one of the most well known and celebrated artists of this time.

And vice versa is also true, plenty of examples of graffiti writers who started in the street and finally end up in galleries and musea. Think about Jean Michel Basquiat and Futura 2000.

Anyway and just to say, It's a fine line between vandalism and art, in which perception and context are crucial.

Warm regards!

im not saying one isnt art or that someone cant do both graffiti and street art. im just saying if you do a legal piece it is street art , if you do an illigal peice its graffiti. people can transition from one to another and stuff but that does not make legal street art graffiti. even if a graffiti artist hits a legal wall its is no longer graffiti its just street art in graffiti style.

Im in no way saying graffiti isnt art, I prefer real graffiti over street art but im a writer so i see it differnt then the richies in the gallerys paying 5k for a single toy letter on canvas or a stencil cutout of something made on photoshop. I love graffiti so much that it upsets me when people call street art graffiti. street art always has a sanatized feel to me.

If you are interested in what "true meaning" of graffiti is i sugest infamy


i cant think of anything else that trully explains graffiti and the sickness that it is. if you havent seen it you should check it out, its a great movie.

Art and music they are much more difficult to define than book genres. For me, I believe in the rebellious act that is graffiti. To take claim of space in a place where you feel oppressed and do it in risky places etc... AND i also think thatvits a word that is used and defined based on context. In this centext whats most important is making something that is in a communal space and is percievably inspirational and joyful.

Not all graffiti fits that mark. Some of it is selfish n thats okay but not for this space. This is about giving.

When see art and perfomances in public its like im connecting not only with the artist but with my community too

I agree, they both have their place and the line even blurs in places. I like one more then the other but that does not mean one is better or worse because like all art its subjective and what one person likes another hates.
:D
I might like one type of music and dislike another does not mean one is better or whatever.

only reason i originally commented was i was looking over the rules and it said no illigal graffiti should be submitted. it just seemed funny to me. also it answered my question i was going to ask about submitting old graffiti i have picts of but its old illigal work so shouldnt submit it.
lol
i think i agree with almost everything you and the others were saying, i was just pointing out the only differnce in whats street art and graffiti is the legality of the instlation.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and the vid... I'm going to check it.

Cheers!

:D
you too.
Its a great video, little outdated but not your standard documentry and not your regular graffiti video of just clips of bombing and music. lol
:)
hope you enjoy the vid!

I accidentally started quite a debate. I honestly was thinking of something like that when i said graffiti before. But street art did seem less hot button and still inclusive of tags that are in legal places or done in legal ways. Like using chalk

I see it more as an exchange of minds and sharing ideas. And, it is a dusk zone where many theories are applicable. Therefore it's an interesting topic to talk about, and I just wanted to share my thought ... nothing more. ;)

To be sure, in case of doubt, you can use 'urban art' ... I think.

Thanks for your reaction. It's nice meeting you this way and wish we can talk more about such subjects in the future.
With these final words I push your follow button!

Warm regards and have a nice time.

At this point i will leave it. I just want people to create outside and use their gifts to inspire others

Good decision!

ahhh okay lemme use that term then. Thanks :)

how does one get ones rep to 6 ?? lol you must be a ninja

I got a loving whale stalker that likes to kill my account about once a month. LOL
Steemit life. Atleast im in the positive right now.
:D

yeah i just looked at that. eeek. maybe you can participate in something positive like this and help it go up more? :D :P I know that when I fight with people I have to do a little good-karma-ing type stuff to feel balanced and for the community to see im not a complete raving lunatic. From looking at your page I'm surpized you are interested in mine! But i know that life is a rainbow of nonsense. ;)

Maybe.
:D
I might give it a try and throw in an entry. kinda busy but if i get a chance it could be fun.

Congrats at going up one point!! Hurrahh

Thank you, when i get time to actually post and stuff it should go up somewhat quickly. it all comes down to how long i get to post before the person shows back up to flag me down again.
lol
:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54635.52
ETH 2893.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03