What I Would Do with 500 SP Delegation

in #community7 years ago

The Experiment Weekend Break and a Little Thank You (2).png

Dear Steemians,

Fawaka?

Fawaka is Surinamese for 'How are you?', or more literally translated 'How are you walking?'

How am I doing? Quite well actually. The past 2 months have actually been great. Aside from work and personal life succes, Steemit has been very nice to me. I've been able to get a reasonable reputation score, a little bit of Steem Power and the opportunity to make over 100 new friends. But, we can always do better.

In the past couple of years, I've been putting a lot of time in Social Media. In my daily life, I run a Social Media Agency called INEFFABLE NV, a start up that has had some succes, including a sold out Social Media Conference Suriname 2017.

Aftermovie of the Social Media Conference Suriname 2017

Aside from my agency, 3 family owned businesses and 2 other (relatively less successful) start ups, I make some time to help the community as well. On a yearly basis I help the Suriname Jazz Festival with their PR & Marketing and am chairman of the Surifesta Foundation. I lecture several college courses and help my community through different projects, previously as a Global Shaper, currently as a Rotarian. Yes, it is a lot, but somehow Steemit managed to get a big chunk of my time lately.

Aside from Steemit I'm active on almost every major Social Media platform, with a moderate total following of around 15.000 (@Jeanlucsr on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, Snapchat). I use social media mainly to motivate and inspire other, especially young leaders and entrepreneurs. This comes from my personal passion, which is 'helping talent reach its potential'. Together with some local YouTubers we started building a creators community, capped by a Social Media Summer School that was held during school vacation last year. With Surifatu TV, we started bringing Surinamese online video celebrities to National TV. Last but definitely not least, I'm currently working on getting a larger group of our online community on Steemit. This week saw 3 of my connections becoming Steemians, many more to come!

The reason I've decided to share this story, is because of a contest that is being hosted by @suesa. Suesa is considering to delegate 500 SP to two minnows for a period of 2 months time. You can read more the contest and the vision behind it here: https://steemit.com/community/@suesa/do-you-want-500-sp-delegation

Now, my first response was that I wasn't going to participate, but would mention it in my next post. Which I did in this video


The real Steemit issue: Content vs. Money [Updated Version] ~ Sorry for the video quality

However, after a couple of days pondering, I realized, I should participate in the contest, for the following obvious reasons:

  • I am still very much a minnow
  • While I have generated a little steem power, I had to carefully pick what I upvote to avoid having upvotes that no weight
  • 500 Steem Power would instantly provide me with a slider, making it easier to manage my voting power
  • I am aware that upvoting and curating is a major importance to this community, as a large portion of my account value comes from upvotes to quality comments.

Yes, 500 Steem Power would provide me to curate and upvote good content, just like I have been doing so far, but only more powerful and reaching out to more people. Of course, during these 2 months, I will not upvote my own posts or comments, something which I haven't done so far either.

Having the support of someone like @suesa would give me an opportunity to help and supports others, while continuing to improve my own content, so two months later, I will be able to acquire the Steem Power on my own.

Tan bun,
@JeanlucSR

Sort:  

This is so good. Nice initiative a d thanks to @suesa for showering love to the minnows

Definitely @tfame3865! Thank you for your support as well 👍

the slider is a nice helper.

Got this delegation as I was a minow and it was great!

Good to know. If I win, I'll be knocking on your door for some advice :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55