You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Explains: The Proper And Ethical Use of Photos on Steemit!

in #community6 years ago

Thank you for this video. Unfortunately, plagiarism is a real problem on Steemit (and the internet as a whole), and I agree that Tin Eye is a good tool for checking out suspicious images. I would caution people who are checking for stolen images to really take a close look at the results though, and not just assume that a photo is stolen because it is found several other places on the web. Photography is a just a hobby for me, but I do have a few photos available on microstock sites (including royalty free ones like Unsplash). I checked one of my Unsplash cycling shots on Tin Eye and found 71 results. Many of them credited me, but many did not. I also found a couple of examples of my photos that were ripped off from sites like Flickr or Photoshelter. In each case, you can find where I posted the image originally if you do a little digging, but it’s certainly not fair that plagiarizers are bringing the work of honest people into question.

Maybe it’s just me, but why would anyone even want to take credit for something they didn’t even do? Better to spend that energy actually creating something that you can really be proud of.

Sort:  

Great info here from a Steemer that I respect!

Thanks so much! It's definitely an issue that tends to get me a bit worked up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52