You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leadership, Bridges and Restraint -- Not Everyone Is Built For Them

in #community7 years ago

Wise wise words. I suspect there is some basis in current events that many Steemians reading this (including myself) are completely unaware of. Nevertheless, it is precious and timeless advice—an “evergreen” post if there ever was one.

Everyone on any public forum has the responsibility of remaining civil under duress and setting an example for others (though many don’t see it that way, unfortunately), but leaders are the ones we all turn to when the waters get rough; so the stakes are higher and it’s even more critical.

Sort:  

Well put Jayna. Yes, you are correct. The post is inspired by some recent events where a leader acted inappropriately in the heat of the moment. Sadly the behaviour has continued.

It's not easy to live up to the expectation of remaining civil under duress. It takes some self-awareness and thought that comes with maturity (and I don't mean age). It's easy to blame others or certain circumstances for 'causing' inappropriate behaviour. That doesn't solve the problem or change future behaviour. I know that I might react to certain people or circumstances. That means being mindful and owning the response.

Failure to own the response and manage it, is a lack of leadership.

I believe I know the circumstances and behavior you are speaking of, and I concur. Better choices could certainly be made. Thank you for your willingness to step up and make a statement about it; I hope people who are choosing a standard bearer to follow start here.

thank you for your very kind words @jayna. I thought on it for a while before deciding to write this. It's meant to create thought on the subject and hopefully it has.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58630.84
ETH 2465.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38