You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Got Flagged Three Times Yesterday. Did You?

in #community6 years ago

howdy @glenalbrethsen! wow this is a strange duck place. no one ever knows what is going to happen next or why. lol. but if there is no money attached to the flag there is no harm done right? doesn't hurt your growth or reputation?

Sort:  

As far as I know, there is no harm in a $0.00 flag. And, as far as them being able to harm reputation, they can't. The system is designed to keep lower reps from being able to do any damage to higher reps. I'm not sure if that's always the best set up, but in this case, where it's a random abuse of the flag power, I guess it's working out for the best.

I'm not sure what happens, though, when reps are the same. There could be other newbie accounts they're hitting where it could do something to them.

oh ok well it's good that it would be hard for them to damage you rep. I've seen several people on here talk about getting flagged like you did so it's a thing. a bizarre thing!
you're making good steady progress climbing in rep aren't you? is it taking something like a week or 10 days to rise each point or number? like 55 to 56.
It feels painfully slow to me but at least it's moving.
do you think doing 2 posts a day speeds it up?

I'm sure they're making the rounds. Just saw another comment from wolfhart that sounds like it started at least last month with them. If you go to the flaggers' steemworld pages you will see all the flags they're doing. It's quite a few people.

Climbing in reputation gets harder the higher you climb. From 25-40 is relatively quick. From 40-49 takes a little longer, and then in the 50s things get a little steeper. I can't remember the breakdown because they're pretty large numbers, but the thresholds to reach keep getting larger.

I've been progressing through the 50s a little bit faster than I would normally just because I've received at least three curie during that period. I can't remember now when I got into the 50s, but I've been in it much longer than any other range.

Okay, just looked it up. I rose to rep 50 around March 10. That means from then until now has been four months, and I'm still not quite to 57. I went from 25 to 50 in two months and ten days.

So, it drags.

It's painfully slow unless larger SP and rank upvotes you with larger amounts of voting percentage. If they're doing 1 or 2% votes, so they're giving you pennies or nickels, it's pretty much similar to what a lower SP with lower rank voter would do. The idea is for the higher SP to vote at a higher percentage. Not only does that give you a good potential payout, it also ups your rank.

The largest upvote from the curie curation trail boosted my rep by at least 1.5 points. It was probably more than that but I wasn't paying attention to the fractions of a point. The one after that moved it just under 1.5, and the next one after that did it a point. This last one was quite a bit less, closer to .5.

So, I think it's taking much longer than a week to 10 days to change the rep amount now.

It's going to depend on how many upvotes you get, how much they are and who they're from as far as the posts go. In theory, the more posts you have, the more opportunity for votes, but as we discussed earlier, you still need to be seen.

ok, well dang I wish I could get in with Curie..well maybe he or she or it will find me someday! hahaha. you went from 25 to 50 in 2 months and 10 days, that sounds amazing.

Have you talked to any of the higher up ranks about what is used to be like 2 years ago? this one lady is almost to 70 and she was saying how outrageously easy it was for those early members.

she said everyone rose so fast in reputation because the Dolphins and Whales used to vote a great deal more than now, and she said they voted in much greater percentages, and there were few members relatively speaking with just a handful joining each day.
She said they all sky-rocketed in growth and rep numbers! ha! that explains why some of these high rep people have horrible posts and you wonder how in the world did they get where they are? now I know.

hey have you done a post today?
maybe you're slackin today?

Looks like we're chasing each other around our comments, because if you catch up to those, you'll know what I've been doing.

I don't have a post today. There wasn't time, regardless, since I was out for most of it, but I already got 11 posts out this week, which is more or less my goal. I've also been spending all the time replying to comments, which is a good thing.

The friend who introduced me to Steemit was here in July of 2016, so I have some idea from him. However, I have read about it from earlier posts and I've seen the astronomical numbers that were attached to them, too.

The thing is, though, many of those were folks that received the initial distribution, plus whatever they may have invested, so there was all kinds of SP versus people here. Then, the price of STEEM was so low, that even if there was $1000 on a post, it was the USD equivalent of $10, which now would be something close to $8 in rewards to get to the $10 USD. So, it's all relative.

Until STEEM went up in price, they were holding onto a whole lot of not much.

For a while it was looking like we might dip below $1, but it's been treading water mostly since then. Even so, $1 is 100 times $0.01, even though it doesn't seem like much. A factor of 100 puts a dollar at $100, and another puts it at $10,000. So, it may have been easier back then to get it for a while, but it wasn't worth much and you would need to persevere to reap the rewards now.

The other thing about that is, the pay curve was different. You might get nothing on a lot of posts, and then because of the curve, feel like you hit the lottery. Not everyone was so lucky, though, and it just got worse the more people came in.

And, it's predicted that it's only going to get worse as more people come in after us, unless they bring in a corresponding amount of SP. Meaning investing and powering up. Just having folks opening up a free account that they hope to build from there through just posting, commenting and curating won't help. We'll need to attract the investor type too that won't necessarily want to go to the trouble of the social media/blogging aspects of STEEM, but will want to see a return on their investment and potentially do that through more than just speculation. Such as curation, or delegation.

well sir, thanks for explaining all this to me, that makes a bunch more sense and makes me feel better. Now we just need people with money to come in, I wonder how many people are joining these days?

This is what it looks like as far as new accounts goes coming through Steemit:


Screen Shot 2018-07-14 at 9.26.39 PM.png


Screen Shot 2018-07-14 at 9.27.51 PM.png

You can find this if you like on @penguinpablo's blog.

Now, when I joined, the numbers a day were in the thousands, like 7-5 to 7-7 on the charts. For a while now, they've been mostly under a 1,000 with these upticks.

That's not a lot of people, relatively speaking. Now, of course, it's not necessarily where the investors are coming in. As far as I know, you don't necessarily have to open up an account in order to buy and sell it. I could be wrong on that, though, in which case, everyone would be included.

wow, well isn't that good growth though?
considering the low prices?

hey Glen, if you're around, what do you think about the 100% setting for newer members, the sp setting to build your sp faster? does that really work?

I think you're going to need to explain that a little more, because I'm not sure if I understand what you're asking.

We all can get to 100% SP, and if we vote at or near it, then we live the maximum amount of upvote that we can. The more we upvote within a 24 hour period, the farther and farther away from maximum we get.

Go and ahead clarify, but I will say there was something I read early on, and I think it's either in the STEEM FAQ or in the etiquette pages where it suggests voting at maximum power 10-11 times in a 24 hour period, especially at lower SP. I'm not sure exactly how that improves SP quicker, though, since you're only getting that back in smaller curation amounts than you would for author rewards.

ok well...evidently you've been slacking off on your mind-reading courses again..plus you didn't post anything today so I see indications of some serious mental deterioration going on.

yeah I do terrible at keeping my voting power, it's usually at around 50%.

what I was asking though, and I reread my question and I didn't even understand it, was on Busy there is a setting to get 100% sp reward and some people say when you are new that you should use that setting because it grows your sp faster.

so I was just wondering if you thought that was a good strategy until a person has some sp built up.

Okay. Now I understand.

You're talking about the payment options we have that were moved off the new post page and onto the settings page on Steemit a couple months back.

The answer to that question is, it depends. The thing about the 50/50 SBD/SP split is, SBD is always considered to be $1, no matter what SBD is. So, when SBD is higher than $1 USD, you get more SBD than you would get if it were being calculated the same as STEEM or SP. It's pretty convoluted math, and I still don't get it all, but essentially, there are fewer times when taking straight SP is going to get you farther than if you take the split, and I don't think we've hit that yet. Even with STEEM above the value of SBD, it's still close enough that you're getting more SBD, even though when you go to exchange it, you end up with less STEEM. I haven't paid much attention to where that point is, nor do I know if I could calculate it. I'm a writer not an algorithm. :)

And that wouldn't just apply to newer accounts, but all of us. And it would really depend on the amount of rewards being received, because incremental is still going to be incremental. Instead of taking, say, 200 days to get to 500 SP with the split, maybe you take 180 days. Faster, but not by a whole lot.

I've been waiting to see posts from folks who know how to do these calculations to more or less clue the rest of us in when all SP might be the better option, but I haven't seen them yet. At least not from the people I trust with such calls. People were doing it a couple of months ago when the prices first reversed and held, and that wasn't necessarily good because SBD was still valued well over $1 USD.

ok I got it. thanks so much Glen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44