Sort:  

I guess, but the slow down isn't so much the price of STEEM. In fact, it would makes sense that more people, especially those who want to buy in and have been tracking STEEM for a while, would want to come in while the prices are low.

However, the reason for the smaller daily accounts being opened is that the Steemit Inc folks have been using more of a manual process of approving accounts while they work on and eventually deploy Velocity, which is part of the upcoming HF 20. Velocity is an automated system that's supposed to be better at bringing on accounts than the automated system they were using previously. When that happens, then the flood gates are supposed to happen like never before, regardless of what STEEM is doing then.

The time before this last update, they estimated we'd see HF20 in the beginning of the third quarter. We're in that right now, and it ceases to be the first part or early part of Q3 when we hit the middle of August.

they don't seem to be very good at getting improvements out, if at all. they should put you in charge, fur would be flyin!

Yeah. Probably my fur, not theirs. :)

I've worked with developers over 20 years ago while I was working for a government agency. They were developing a new software interface that would allow us to do most of what we did on the computer. The developers kept wanting to do one thing, and we would say, well, okay, but will that do this and this and this, and they would say no, but it will do that and that better. Unfortunately that and that had nothing to do with what we needed.

They hoped to get something out there as fast as possible without much concern whether it helped anyone or not. I have yet to see where there's been much of a change in develop attitudes since. :)

great. so developers are developers no matter where they are probably and you've been hearing about changes coming and watching, but has there been any at all? A single one?
But they ARE coming! lol.

I certainly can't speak for Steemit Inc. and why they've been slower at making these updates they keep promising, but within the first year or so there were 19 hard forks. Some of them, at least, affected things in a major way. Apparently, there has been things happening under the hood that don't constitute major changes.

I couldn't tell you what they are, but the witnesses are supposed to be implementing 19.10.0 over the course of the next few weeks, if not sooner. That's supposed to bring with it at least one change, and that's the ability to go back into older than 7 day posts and do whatever editing you want to do.

I checked for it last week but didn't see that the edit option was available, so I guess that means we're waiting on witnesses to adopt the new update.

ok well sir..I'm sure they will eventually get everything set up, the updates and changes and such. how do you know what they're working on and when this stuff is supposed to happen?

Steemitblog has been the primary source for my information. Sometimes I don't see it firsthand until after someone else has posted about what they announced, but that's the main source I have. You can also go to the github links they provide in their posts, bookmark them, and then check back from time to time. There are people here who do that, too. I'm not one of them, though I have on occasion looked. Sometimes I can follow a conversation about what the developers are working on, but most of the time I can't. I'd probably need someone to walk me through it to get much out of what's being written there. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67751.75
ETH 2620.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72