The Not-so-Secret Secret to Steem Growth

in #community7 years ago (edited)


Source

I joined in May of this year, unsure what I was going to blog about or how to grow my account. However, after a few weeks fumbling around I steadily started to gain followers. 2600 people currently follow my account and I received my Christmas wish last night of attaining a reputation score of 64. I have some great support on my blog and regularly receive rather tasty upvotes.

What is my secret?

 
Anybody who follows my blog already knows that there is no secret formula. The best advice I can give anybody is to forget how to spell 'ME'. That's right, stop thinking about what others can do for you. Think more about what YOU can do for others. Join communities and engage with them in a meaningful way. My particular favourites are @MinnowSupport and my own community, @TheWritersBlock.

Minnow Support, and their Discord Server PALnet, is where I learned about the benefit of communities. But rather than joining to see what you can get out of them, see how you can help and support others.

Gift Economy

 
Look at Steem as a gift economy. What is a gift economy?

A gift economy is one in which services or goods are given without an agreement as to a suitable payment or trade to be made in return.
Instead of monetary gain, gift economies often rely on intangible rewards like a sense of contribution, community, honor or prestige. The idea is that although gifts may not be directly reciprocated, broad participation leads to a system in which people give according to their abilities and receive according to their needs.
Source

The gifts here are upvotes and resteems. Like something you see? Reward that post. Think it deserves further rewards? Resteem it. Yet even this is short sighted: think about how YOU can bring value to the platform and communities. Maybe start a new community initiative, not for monetary gain, but simply because you can.

Tooting my own horn

 
While moderating at MSP, I regularly sent the required steem to new users wishing to register and sign up. Many others did, and still do. I never required repayment or anything in return. I, along with the rest of the moderation team, did our very best to welcome new users, point them in the right direction at the beginning of their Steem journeys.

I started up my @Muxxybot curation account in order to share minnow posts with my followers, in the hope that more eyes on their content would result in an increase in followers and rewards. My curation team has slowly grown to 22 members who now get rewarded with shares of the SBD payouts from the curation posts. I would like to think that by being seen as curators, they get further visibility and followers on the platform as a result.

In September I left MSP and, along with @rhondak, created The Writers' Block Discord Server. At the Block we help budding writers polish their work by brainstorming ideas, editing their work and by generally supporting them and their writing. We hold regular writing contests, my own are paid out from my account. I do this to further encourage writers and to increase the quality of work on Steem, hopefully doing my bit to increase the value of content on the platform.

Being selfishly unselfish

 
Yes, that sounds like an oxymoron, but think about it: I go out of my way to help and encourage others. I hold contests like my recent 5 days of Muxxymas, pledging the SBD payout to lucky winners. I also have my new Introduce A New Steemian initiative, whereby I find an #introduceyourself post, share it on my blog, 100% upvote that new user and pledge all SBD from my post will be sent to them. I could simply keep the money earned and build up my own account, but chose instead to give it away. Why? Simple, I enjoy giving. But more than that, it puts my name out there. I get followers. Yes, right now they are 'plankton' with very little power, but one day they will not be, and when they grow into dolphins and maybe whales, perhaps they will remember that crazy Brit who gave away earnings to help them early on in their Steem journey.

Do you have any advice about growing your account? Share in the comments below.

Sort:  

Hey Muxxy,
The best advice I can give people is to try and be original.
I've always strived to offer something that others don't, something interesting and/or funny that's gets people to engage.
It's through engagement with others that you find the kindred spirits and loyal followers who stick with you and make your journey worthwhile and rewarding.

Top advice from a top bloke. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your initiatives to help and support other's. It's not only greatly appreciated, but a respectable ideal to replicate. I am very new here and have found the Steemit Community to be very helpful and mostly genuine.

Love the idea of a gift economy! It's crazy because although we have limited voting power, the steem that we are "giving away" isn't actually ours, so why aren't people more willing to go all out with supporting others?

Nothing to lose and everything to gain in my opinion! I've been following your blog for a while and started using your advice and managed to make a handful of great friends on the site! It all came from convos on discord, joining communities, and supporting the mess out of people with no expectation of a reward! It takes a while to build friendships, but when you do, Steemit becomes less about making money, and more about being excited to boot up your computer to see what your friends are up to!

Well said.

Thanks gmuxx! Hope you had a Merry Christmas if you celebrated!

It is so nice to read about your philanthropic work. stay blessed and happy new year

In my opinion in order to grow your account you have to do two things:
1. Be authentic and original.
Post about things that are really related to you and you enjoy talking about them.
2. Be engaged with the community.
Always respond to your followers, start discussions, follow their blogs and their posts.

I am new to Steemit and unfortunately my effort still hasn't paid off even when I follow these simple rules that I made for myself. But I believe in this idea and I am sure that sooner or later I will find my place in this platform.

Posts like yours give hope, so I will resteem it. Cheers :)

It will pay off eventually. Thanks for sharing.

This is a great advice for someone like me who has left Steemit for a while.
I hope I can copy you and forget the "me" word.

Let's see how that goes.

Thanks @gmuxx

Dear @gmuxx,

I would say that I had a lot of hopes about steemit/steem and gift economy.... But many people here are for the short term. and unfortunately they don't send a good image of steem to make it grow.

With Steem, we can change lives. Have a great impact. On people who have a very poor life...... But here, we see that poors struggles and get frustrated to see the rich, become richer and richer.

I hope this gif economy can really change things, but I see that 's people use this system... Not for the good reasons.

And to answer your question, to grow your account, don't just publish high quality content. I am so so sorry.. but it doesn't pay.

Act like in the real life : make connection, friendship, network. this is how the life works and how Steem works.

I wish you all a lot of success anyway :)

Thanks for the encouraging post- things line that keep new trying to work hard on this platform! I would add this tip:
Even if you have no time for posting, check out posts you like, vote for them even if your vote is worth nothing right now - it makes a person happy to see that people like his words/art/poem etc. Even if he doesn't get money from this - you still can reward the post writer with a nice, constructive comment. And pretty much like what gmuxx wrote - being selfless will be good for you, as people like being acknowledged for their hard work and creations and they are willing to reward those who stop by and appreciate their work.

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Best Holiday wishes to you @gmuxx, you are one of the most unselfish people I've had the pleasure to meet here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59895.89
ETH 2419.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44