Shoutouts To Those Who Engage With Me The Most

in #community6 years ago (edited)

The Introduction

If you follow @abh12345, you will know that not only does he run the Curation and Engagement League challenge each week, half of the @steemcommunity witness with @paulag, but that he has been known to publish a list post or two. It's been a while, but Asher has pulled two gems of lists out of his magic hat of tricks that provides the Top 20 commenters on either your posts or comments, ordered by the amount of comments or the number of characters typed.

pexels-photo-1097425.jpeg
Image from Pexels

The Shameless Plug

If you are interested, as I was, to know who those people are, head on over to Asher's post here, and ask politely for a peak at your lists. Also, if you haven't already, you might want to consider signing up for his leagues by going to last Sunday's result page here, and again asking nicely to become a member. It's free, there's no qualifications or prerequisites, just a desire to engage and curate and maybe win some STEEM for your weekly efforts.

My Top 20 Commenters By Characters Typed


AccountCommentsCharacters typed
@themanwithnoname497280708
@gillianpearce342144573
@lynncoyle1309104215
@davemccoy11966871
@wizardave9263610
@janton13452683
@abh1234511643891
@maverickinvictus11442892
@rocking-dave3030072
@mazzle7127093
@tim3w4rp7126402
@practicalthought4126158
@willymac3523993
@pjau8122679
@bashadow4121794
@leeart7620932
@buggedout7419731
@mistermercury5218201
@bbrewer10518023
@fullcoverbetting4517285

Those of you who regularly interact with me will not be surprised by this list. Since I don't know who all is actually participating in Asher's engagement league, I will say at least 14 of the 20 on my list are members. Some of the others may be too, but end up out of the Top 20% week to week.


Top Commenters Ordered By Comment Amount Not On List Above


AccountCommentsCharacters typed
@jlsplatts6113191
@protegeaa3912726

Instead of repinging everyone along with these two, I decided to just shorten the list to those who were not on the character typed ordered list. That makes 22 between the two Top 20 lists since most of them made both.

Some Thoughts

I am happy to report that all but one of these people are currently active on the platform, with one more just barely bowing out to take care of personal business. I believe they are still around, though, and hope they will see this post.

Since this constitutes just over six months of interactions with me, I'm happy to note that a lot of these folks have been in my comment circle since nearly the beginning of my time here, while a few of them have managed to come along with only two or three months under their belts.

Thanks goes to all of you. Without you being here, my personal Steemit journey would not be what it is. I know I'm not much on hanging out in crowds, but one on one, I can probably talk people's ears off with the best of them. Or in this case, fill up the blockchain with words with the best of them.

Thank you for taking the time to reply to my posts, to the comments I make on your posts, and to hold true conversations. I've been learning a lot from you—not only about you, but what you think, the knowledge and wisdom you impart, and your generosity and hospitality. It's been truly a blessing. I can only hope that I've managed to make your time on the STEEM platform as worthwhile as you have all made mine.

fried-eggs-breakfast-toast-food-50600.jpeg
Image from Pexels

And Now A Toast

This only works if you have your favorite beverage in hand and someone nearby to look at you funny when you say your part at the appointed time.

To the good times already spent, to the brighter days ahead, to the success of all of us, however we define it, and to the friendships we're all building.

Hear, hear.

That was your cue.

Sort:  

Did you see the following 20 SBD bounty post?
And if you play poker this Steemonian has another nice bounty post.

https://steemit.com/blockchain/@knircky/why-are-blockchains-valuable

I did see that. My comment is buried in amid all the other comments knircky got. He hasn't replied, so I don't know if that means he didn't see it or that it doesn't warrant any more information, like he asked for from some others who were giving explanations of what a blockchain was but not necessarily describing the value the blockchain might have. I see he replied to yours. :)

Yeah I think I give up 😥

But I think I got some small upvotes. So in the end I will most likely receive a small part from the bounty.

If I don't forget I check your comment a bit later.

Well, unless he's only looking for his answer, there's not really a definitive way to respond. Whether or not the blockchain has value depends on what you think is valuable. Which is basically where I went with my comment after stating that value could be found through a number of things the blockchain is supposed to provide.

However, the blockchain is only going to be as valuable as we make it or assign to it, just like any other asset, experience, event, etc. So, anyway. You can still read the other one. :)

Bugger!
I didn't send you enough replies to be on your list.

Anyways you're right that these posts from Asher are really awesome. I wonder if he will come up with more of them?

I hope so. He was doing them more frequently, then he went on vacation and they just sort of stopped. Since then, he's been involved with all kinds of things including setting up the witness, so I don't know what we'll get from him in the way of lists now.

I've missed them, because they always have good information in them about something I'm doing here on STEEM.

re: replies

Well, either I have to go your way more or you have to come my way, or maybe a little of both. Lately, I've been doing good if I can keep up with my own stuff and feed, let alone go elsewhere. I need to get back in the groove. :)

Looks like I need to stop slacking off!

What? Quit your full-time paying job and forget doing anything with your family so you can dedicate 14 hours or so a day to Steemit? :) Nah, no worries. You've got much more important things to do then be one of my top engagers. Now, if you were spending more time on Steemit to build up your own account, okay, I could see that.

I can't say a whole lot has been going on anyway. No HF 20, no Hivemind/Communities. No SMTs. But there has been a bunch of things going under the hood. Who knows. Things might get hectic here soon.

Haha, yeah, it's good to keep a good balance.

Yes, I keep hoping that all these promises of future Steem greatness will come to fruition.

It's weird, but most of us here haven't even seen a HF yet, while those of you who have been here longer have experienced up to 19. I'm sure not all of them were major, but a lot of them have changed the way things are done here pretty dramatically from what I've read and what you've mentioned.

So, knowing there were essentially 19 forks within the first year and none for all of the second and beginning of the third doesn't help patience any. Although, I guess there's different ways of looking at the sudden stop in HF. Meaning, it could be a good thing, that either a) they're not as necessary, or b) Steemit's taking their time so they get it right.

Anyway, maybe announcing things so far ahead and then missing announced deadlines then saying they're coming but when they're ready isn't the best way to rally the morale of the troops. :)

Thanks for the shameless plug Glen! I like it when people take a piece of data/info
And base a post around it.

Some epic numbers you have in just 6 months or so 👍🏾

Epic numbers that you all have engaging with me. I'd love to see how my numbers breakdown on every one else's lists. So far, from what I've seen, it's been pretty cool.

The leagues are in large part responsible for my engagement levels certainly over the last three months. Before that, they were more typical of most users, I would say, even though that would still put me in the top 20%. :) Regardless, having them compiled and displayed every week has been great to see where I'm at production-wise, and while there's not a straight correlation to rewards, at this stage, the more I produce, the more likely I will benefit in some way, be it rewards, connections, opportunities, etc.

So, the shameless plugs will probably continue.

Good luck to England today! If England makes it into the finals, will they call it the Channel Championship? :)

I've enjoyed our conversations @glenalbrethsen and your curiosity about the things I've posted.

I've learned a lot from your research. 😁

And, I'd like to say big "thank you" to you for all you support when things have been a bit challenging for me here. Your kind words and encouragement meant a lot. 😍

I'm happy to help when I can. Sometimes I feel like there's not a whole lot I can do, when things get stressful, but I suppose it never hurts to try.

I like to look things up and learn, so it's something that comes naturally, and hey, bonus if you're learning, too.

Well, thank you for all you do, too. I know there's time you need a way and times you want to be here, and it all kind of collides and mixes and separates depending on what all is going on. Still, it's good to be able to be there for you, and you to be there for me, since you're not the only one who falls down the rabbit hole now and then. :)

It's good to know you Glen, and I'm glad you've hit your 6 month mark. Your food posts have inspired me to do more than just take a photo of what I'm making.

I'm glad to know you, too. I've learned plenty of things, in particular about crypto, and it seems like you're a great father who takes a big interest in being around your children as much as you can. That in the end, I believe, is what it's all about. Much more than anything that could be accomplished on STEEM or in the workplace. Loving your children and preparing them for life.

That's so funny to me that the food posts are inspiring anyone to do anything. :) I'm glad, it's just that I approach them more from a "I don't really know what I'm doing, but I'm doing it, anyway," kind of attitude. Mainly because I'm in the rotation to keep the peace. That's it. The moment I don't need to keep the peace, I'm out!

Well, I hope the extra effort pays off somehow. I don't need to inspire anyone to do anything that isn't worth it.

To the good times already spent, to the brighter days ahead, to the success of all of us, however we define it, and to the friendships we're all building.

Agreed!

I didn't realize that I had made that many comments and replies to you over the last six months. That's quite a few.

Oh, fyi, your title could use an o. Forgot to mention it and now I'll bury it in my comment so no one knows. ;)

You've got quite the list there. And gathering from the fact that gillian is so high on your list, I think I have a better idea of how you both have been doing so well in the league. That's good though! Engaging, creating, sharing ideas.

I'm ready for the toast!
photo-1484723091739-30a097e8f929.jpg

https://unsplash.com/photos/zcUgjyqEwe8

lol! we're a bunch of shutouts! hey now that's some great looking toast ya got there manwithnoname!

I've tried hard to be good so I don't get shutout (muted). Looks like I've done ok with that thus far.

It's not actually my toast. I got the picture from unsplash. I would like for that to be my toast though. It would be consumed rather quickly.

lol! pretty darn funny Blondie, good mood must be coming back.
hey I have someone that I followed but they resteem so dang many posts that I'd like to not get their posts anymore. is that what happens when you mute them? I don't want them to know that I unfollowed or whatever.
I want that toast too.

We'll see. The quotsperation could strike at any time.

I am often very picky about who I follow as I don't like seeing a lot of those resteem either. One or two per week is fine, but more than that is obnoxious in my opinion. If there are really that many people's posts that you like, create your own post highlighting your favorite posts of the week or something.

If someone is using a notification service, there's really nothing you can do to keep them from seeing that you unfollowed or muted them. If you unfollow, you won't see their posts/resteems anymore. If you mute them, you won't see any of their comments on your posts either. I get that it's an awkward position to be in, but if I had to choose, I'd probably just unfollow. It's not as "offensive."

I think we'd all like that toast. :P

ok sir, thanks for your opinion on the unfollow subject, I don't want to unfollow them but my gosh there
are literally 10 resteems a day if not more so it just clogs up my feed and I don't care about any of the stuff that is being resteemed.

Sorry about that, man. I'd still just unfollow them. Ha ha!

probably will. thanks Blondie!

Duuuuuuude! Thanks for the editing snag. I wonder how many others missed that! I wouldn't want anyone to be a shutout though, so I've corrected and reworked the title a bit.

Well, I'd say me, you, Lynn and Gillian have all benefited from our conversations, and then time is the other element. There's only so much of it, and so you do what you can with what you have.

It's not like you've been left out. Rather, we're all keeping each other in the game! So thanks for the editing catch and that french toast looks good. Go and have a bite. :)

You're welcome. I normally have an eye for that sort of thing, so when I see them, I try to point them out to my friends so they can fix them. I figure most of the time people would rather they be given a chance to fix their mistakes rather than let the errors glare at anyone who might notice. At least I prefer that.

Yeah, it's fun that we're able to get points and support each other as we comment. We get to know each other and help keep each other encouraged to keep blogging (hopefully).

I'll try to have toast tomorrow morning to commemorate your engagement in the community.

I'm going to try to have donuts. Haven't had them in a while and I've been feeling like it's time to have some again. :)

Well, so do I, but it's always the hardest to see your own stuff, even when you stare at it three or four times. Titles are easy and hard—easy because they're generally short, hard because the type is smaller. At any rate, I appreciate it.

Don't do the donuts, man! Once you start it's difficult to stop. And they're not good for you in any way. It's just junk. Save yourself!

I actually haven't had a donut in a while either, so I'm doing well on that front.

So my wife made waffles for breakfast... I'll have to do the toast another time. :)

Too late. I got the donuts from the local donut shop. Unfortunately, they weren't that good. Something odd in the dough/bread part of it. The fillings were great, though, so I'm not sure what happened with the rest of it. I'd hate to think I'm growing out of donuts. I might be lactose intolerant now, too, which is another blow to my culinary psyche. I'm falling apart man.

I'm sure there will be plenty of time for toast. As it is, I think you're the only one so attempting to commit to it. :)

Sorry the donuts didn't work out as well as you had hoped. It's tough when you're expecting greatness and then it falls flat, or even just comes up short of what you were expecting. Maybe you just need to get another round of them! Ha. That's the exact opposite of the last advice that I gave you. :D

I'm falling apart man

Oh, I know that feeling! They told me to never get old, but I didn't listen. I wish I had. Although, the only sure-fire way I know to keep from getting old is to die young. I didn't want to do that either, so here I am... falling apart. In fact, that's going to be my new account's name, @fallingapartman. LOL

I think you're the only one so attempting to commit to it.

I may need to be committed anyways, so it makes sense! Might as well go for it. :P

I'm not at all surprised by the level of engagement on your posts. You're a natural at encouraging engagement and discussion. I'm always impressed with how many comments you receive on your content.

I'm making a transition back to written posts again so I hope to increase the level of discussion on my content as well. Video content doesn't seem to inspire the same level of discussion. Or at least for me it didn't.

And here's to the next 6 months!

It seems to me that those who are watching videos more than reading are primarily hoping to be entertained in some way, with less of it being informed, or leading to a discussion. Hopefully, though, with more written posts you'll see that commenting increase again.

Well, it certainly helps when there's others to engage with and you're definitely one of them. We've always been able to fall into easy discussions about things, so thank you for your end of that. In other words, it's not just me. I'm taking cues from everyone else and trying to say something of value. I think it's been working decently so far.

To another six months!

Great post. I thought it was upbeat. You have some great people commenting and engaged. Hat's off to you. It seems all your hard work is paying off. Blessings.

I think I do, and you're among them. Thanks for the part you play in what I'm doing, and I wish you well with your own endeavors.

I'm not sure where any of this work is taking me. I guess we'll call it hard work, after a fashion. I think I've been enjoying myself a lot more than virtually anything else I've ever done.

Now, if the SP would come in a little quicker, that would be nice.

You know. I think I shall post about this: what one can "get" out of Steemit. Not just the potential $ but other things. I've pondered this question for the past month as I came to understand Steemit was not quite what I thought it might be. At one point recently I was ready to bail out, but then realized there were reasons I was here that were still valid. But I do think there are other paths opening up...other journeys, that Steemit is leading me to. We'll see.

Oh, and I'm grateful to be among the least of your friends. Many blessings.

The least... Ah come on. I wouldn't say that. There's more back and forth with some of the others but some of that is based on the time they have to dedicate to Steemit.

The post sounds like a good one to me. I have one similar to that out there already, but you have a pretty unique way of looking at things that's bound to add to the conversation.

And if there are other paths opening up, hey, that's even better. Some opportunities because of an opportunity. That's always good.

Cheers Glen! It has been my pleasure to engage with you too. Asher has created quite a little community with his leagues, hasn't he?! Do you remember if we met over there, or did we already know of each other before the leagues? What came first? The chicken or the egg? :)

I don't remember. It was toward the end of March when I first started with the leagues. It seems to me though I'd ran across you, @gillianpearce, @davemccoy, @themanwithnoname and @beeyou before that, though. I know definitely with No Name, because we were talking it up before he mentioned the leagues, and it took another two weeks after that for me to join, so I think it's a good bet we were conversing before that. I take it you don't rightly recollect either? :)

It seems like six weeks, and it seems like six years. Regardless, it's the middle of the year already. Time flies. Period. Fun. No fun. It just flies.

Asher has a great thing going. I hope we can continue to make it worth his while. I hope we can keep making it worthwhile for the sponsors, and for all the leaguers themselves. Someone needs to keep this place going. :)

I'm pretty sure we'd had some contact before the Leagues @glenalbrethsen. Your post about wanting to find people you could have qulity engagement with sticks in mind mind and I'm pretty sure that was before the League. 😊

That was what I was thinking too, though I don't remember the specific connections any more. We all just kind of ended up gravitating to one another and then some time after that, there we all were with Asher's leagues. I think it's great we've all been able to make it this far. I'd like to be saying this again at the end of the year. Won't know until we get there.

I'd like to be saying this again at the end of the year.

Me too @glenalbrethsen. But things might change when the Hardfork comes. It just seems to be so much harder work for those of us who started 6 months ago compared with those, even a year ago.

And those that have joined since are probably looking at us and saying the same.

It seems impossible to get anywhere these days unless you buy in or have a lot of time to comment.

My only hope really, is that some day, Steem will really take off and even, my comparatively small stake, will make it all worth it. But when people talk in terms of 20 years time my heart sinks. My children would benefit from that but not me.

The disparities between effort made and rewards between those that were here earlier and us is getting to me again these last few days.

And the holier than thou judgements of those who believe that only long form posts add any value.

Ho hum. Probably not worth responding because, by the time you read this, it will be another day and I will have moved on. 😂

I think I may have inadvertently responded to this on the other comment. I was working backwards this time through most recent comments first and so just got to this one.

All I know is, value is in the eye of the beholder. And someone, more than just me, is voting on your posts, and, if people don't see value, than they don't have to upvote. There's room for a lot of things here, and to flourish. It's just not going to feel that way until more people are here and sticking around.

As it is, I find more value in any post, yours, mine, whoever's, when there's more than just a picture and a sentence. I think you've been meeting that threshold quite regularly. It's easier for me to come in on the posts that have some kind of history or interesting story attached to them then it is to comment on the posts for the color contests. I would think that at least an equal purpose for those kind of posts would be to enter the contest, and actually help it grow by its mention, as much as it is to get something on the post.

The holier than thou attitude has to go. There are no rules. I don't have nearly as many photos to share as you and many others do, so I'm probably not going to be posting about photos or creating photo essays. Fine. You and others can do it and we'll try together to diversify the subject matter here on the platform.

As it is, you know as well as I, that the amount of words doesn't mean you've said anything at the end of them. So, again, value is in the eye of the beholder.

I don't know how to get around the early distribution, or rewards. I came across a two year old post that received in excess of $1,000 in rewards on it. It wasn't worth anywhere near that, but then, STEEM would have been $0.10 maybe? That would be a $100-plus post now, and in my mind, not many are worth even that. I have experience paying reporters by the piece, though, so I'm probably biased. But by and large, I would include my own work in that assessment, too.

I'm hoping it's not 20 years, either. My only hope would to somehow manage to be a young 72. As it is, I'm looking at 10 years, tops. I don't think that's out of the question. I very much believe it's doable, given what else seems to have value in the crypto space. Institutional money is coming, maybe by the end of the year, but regardless, when that comes, we'll see who the winners and losers are, and we'll also see if we like having that much money and all of the regulation and baggage it brings.

I chalk up buying in as a good thing, if you can do it. If you can't, then time is about the only ally.

The HF may or may not mean much. I think the jury is still out, since the talk about it is now turning toward either a positive or a wash from it being a total negative. I don't think we can know until it's on, functioning, and people are doing their level best to work within it, or workaround it. Every action has a reaction, and those are hard to predict in full.

I'm more interested in seeing what Communities brings to the platform. It has the potential to clean up a lot of things, or at least make it so we can all find something we're comfortable with. It also has the potential to make things worse. If it's sound and we can't make it work, than there's not much hope for anything on platform. SMTs would be the only way, in my mind, to keep STEEM going.

Well, as I predicted

by the time you read this, it will be another day and I will have moved on.

Not sure I've moved on but it's another day and I'm still plodding on and not thinking about the stuff that was getting to me so much.

I see Steem has gone down again this morning so if it keeps going in that direction I'll probably buy some. But . . . at what point do I buy? 😂

When it was going up I said if it got below $1.25 again I'd buy some. But now it's going down I'm wondering if I should wait and see if it goes below $1.

This is why I've missed both the big dips that have happened since I've been here.

Maybe I'll just buy 10 Steem if it drops to $1.25 and take it from there. #😁

Looks like Bithumb is back at it, driving the average price up on significant volume, but the other exchanges aren't going with it, so without Bithumb, it's around a $1.36 or so.

Buying dips has got to be the hardest part. I've come reasonably close a couple of times, and then been way off the rest. I've been told that you just keep buying in increments, more or less like you said, and if it keeps going down, you have more left over to buy and you can adjust the amounts as you go.

I guess there is such a thing as holding too long—holding too long on your fiat that the dip gets missed, and holding on too long to the investment that you miss the moon. :) Wherever that's supposed to be.

Okay, well, no need to continue the other part of the conversation, then. As they say, onward and upward.

I don't remember at all @glenalbrethsen! It feels like 6 years and not 6 months...in a good way that is.

I'm really enjoying "our" group all growing together, and with leagues like this and other supportive groups, I have no doubt that this place will keep going.

I guess if we ever want to write a book about our history on the STEEM blockchain it might become important, and then we can probably look it up. Hopefully we'll have all kinds of ways to do that by the time any of us might want to tackle that. Otherwise, it probably doesn't matter. The fact is, we've all found one another, and we're doing what we can to keep going here.

Just gotta keep plugging away, right? One day, one hour, one minute at a time.

That's it. And I like the fact that we are all growing up together :) I was pleased to see you, me, gill, themanwithnoname all at the top of the lists. That's what friends do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88