I Want Your Comments

in #community5 years ago

You Begging Or Bragging?

I like comments. So much so, I'm willing to 'pay' for them. Yes, that's right. I gladly allocate some reward funds for them.

Why?

Because I like engagement. On my own posts, on other posts, anywhere anyone wants to have a conversation.

The problem is, too many users don't do it. I don't know why, but I can guess at it. Mainly, they're too busy. Maybe they don't have anything they feel worthwhile to say. Maybe they think it's a waste of time because there aren't rewards in comments. I don't know.

What I do know is this. If you want to leave a comment on my posts, one that I can understand that's more than a line or two that actually talks about my post or comment, I will gladly upvote at least your first comment, and maybe more, depending on how our conversation goes.

Votes.png

Maybe you're think, "Yeah, right. He's just blowin' smoke." To that, I would say, "Dude, it's 2019, not the 1940s. Get with the times!" Then, I would say, "Ya want proof? I'll show you some proof!"

And here it is. The above pie chart, whipped up by @abh12345 on a post of his not quite two weeks ago, shows the number of upvotes I made within a 30-day period of time between posts (in orange) and comments (in blue). As you can see, I upvoted nearly 480 comments (that was a slow month for me, too). Many of those were on other people's posts.

Vote Weight.png

This next pie, also from the same post, shows the vote weight on posts and comments. As you can see, I actually upvote a little more on comments weight-wise than I do on posts. That's probably because I'm quite often the only one upvoting a comment, and when I do it, I make sure it's enough to get past the dust threshold—at a minimum, $0.03. If the comment is good and more involved, I might add some more to it.

I'm crazy like that. You never know what you're going to get.

Maybe A Little Of Both

So, here's the deal. I like engagement, and meaningful engagement at that. None of this, "Oh, cool!", "Nice job!" or "That's the kind of post I like! Keep up the good work!" I'm talking about the kind that let's me know someone actually took the time to read my post and comment.

(Yeah, I know. Now that I gave examples of what not to do, someone's bound to do it just for fun. Bring it on.)

If you're willing to comment in a meaningful way, I'm willing to upvote at least the first comment, maybe more of them if the conversation continues. If that feels like a bribe, maybe it is. I've been doing it like this since I got here, so all I'm really doing with this post is announcing that I do it. I'm not guaranteeing anything—you would still have to come up with a thoughtful, pertinent comment—but you can do so knowing that there's a pie-verified chance that:

  • I will answer you, unlike too many authors/commenters on STEEM, and—

  • I am more than willing to allocate some reward funds for the comment(s) you leave.

Now, I know many of you don't comment for the reward. That's okay. I don't either, but it's certainly nice when someone recognizes that what I said has some value, and that it adds value to their post. So, I don't see it as a bribe at all, but a way of saying thank you for your time and your words.

I manually curate. I read posts and comments. I comment back. I upvote the ones I like. I upvote when people engage with me. I want to engage, and I'm willing to put in the time and the resources to do it. The proof is in the pies.

Sort:  

Maybe I should call them puddings from now on :)

I'd have to check back on the post - bugger it, i will..........

@meesterboom (40%), @slobberchops (39%), and @roleerob (37%) were your closest 'competitors' in the vote weight towards comments.

Personally, I think that is great to see and I think anything over a quarter of your voting weight towards comments is doing pretty well.

They are certainly not where the curation rewards are, it's much tougher to auto-vote them, and it's a lot more likely that it is content that has been read.

Keep up the sterling work Glen and all, I think that calls for some ENGAGE tokens :D

How would I see the weight of my votes on comments?

Normally, be lucky and spot my posts :)

This is over the previous 30 days..

This was the post if you want more info / a comparison to others. Your %'s towards comments look to be higher than average :)

Thank you :)

Comments are such a huge part of the math magic of this system, and sometimes the quality of the comments are greater than the posts they land on. Not that I have been able to enrich anyone with large upvotes, but I figure a steady stream of little drips for those patient enough to receive them will one day add up to the stuff legends are made of. :D

Hey, @abh12345.

I meant to make this post way sooner (and probably in not so much of a demanding fashion as this one turned out to be—what can I say, I was in the mood), so I'm sorry I missed the window of opportunity for you to actually get more eyes on your post. Maybe it will help for next time (like I have pull around here. :)

There were one or two people who actually upvoted a higher percentage of comments than I did, but I was happy to see that my vote weight compared to the sample was the highest. I think at the time I was hoping it would be more, but there's always room for improvement.

So, thank you for the pies—they're always enlightening and useful—and thanks now for more ENGAGE tokens. I might swing back buy and ask for my resteems, but I already know I don't get that many. :)

No problem on missing the window, I had had enough of those pies in the end :)

Weight trumps amount of comments in my opinion - you won the better category I think.

I had a nice comment from soyrosa on my latest post. I'm aware Resteem data isn't everyone's cup of tea, and so I don't mind folks holding their ENGAGE for something more interesting to them.

Cheers!

I certainly understand the reason for asking for some kind of recompense, though—I've been wondering about the expense of using arcange's services—so absolutely no problems there. Then, I'll have to learn how to properly transfer you the ENGAGE tokens when the time comes. :)

Congratulations, you already have some good engagement and comments on your post! Perhaps it is a good idea to ask for comments outright, as you did. Your upvotes are and will be important to many, so thanks for doing that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @giddyupngo.

Maybe it is. I've tried a lot of other things to date, and not a lot of has done as well, so while there's probably many factors involved in all of that, asking doesn't seem to have hurt any. :)

I appreciate the kind words. I think all of us get helped along the way in some fashion, and while a lot of where I'm at is because I invested, I can't deny the fact that the rewards I have earned have come from people who took the time to read posts/comments I've written. I've been trying to find something I feel like I can do that wouldn't be extra work or beyond the scope of what I want to do, and upvoting comments as much as possible (those that aren't spam or no effort) seems to be one place I can contribute.

Morning Glen

I hope your post brings you an increased level of engaging comments.

As you've no doubt noticed I'm not really engaged here much nowadays. I admire your tenancity. 😊

I am spending a lot less time at the computer and I'm happy about that.

I also got pretty bored of reading comments on my posts that are written just for the sake of commenting.

I have a new commentor recently who leaves very short but relevant comments. So I give them a decent upvote. Only to discover by accident, each of their comments gest upwards of 70 upvotes later in the week. 😱

Needless to say I will no longer respond or upvote them. I can guess what will happen. 😂

Bottom line I suppose is I no longer feel engaged. The fact I comment less on your stuff is not a reflection of what you're writing but just a reflection of my ennui. 😍

Hey, @gillianpearce.

Well, you and I have discussed this enough that I know more or less what you've been up to, and I certainly can't blame you. I'm actually rather surprised that of all of us, I'm the one still at it as much as possible. :) I'm the last one who should be here, in my estimation, but as I was saying to a friend of mine (in the outside world), I'm too stubborn to know when to quit. :)

Some are still around, they're just off playing STEEM Monsters, or Drugwars or some other thing, that doesn't call for much interaction on the rest of the platform.

I'm glad to hear that you've been finding that balance you've been wanting. We all need to find it.

re: for the sake of commenting

I've been feeling like that's me a lot lately. Commenting for the sake of commenting. I don't like how it feels. At the same time, I don't comment on everything I read or look at, so I'm not trying to force it. So, I don't know. There's a mindset to it that I've been bouncing in and mostly out of that I feel like I'm mostly going through motions.

But commenting is good for a host of reasons, so it's a Catch-22 sometimes. I'm glad you came by, though.

It's strange to think that it's almost been a year since I joined the leagues...

I think the hardest part about building user engagement on this platform is the ridiculous notion that posts are the only way to get anywhere on it. Comments are certainly good for discussion, but not everyone goes that far. I also notice that not everyone tries to start discussion. It's one thing to make a post, another to make one that fosters conversation. We're very good at making the former, but not so good at making the latter.

Commenting should definitely be encouraged more, and I'd do the same thing you're announcing here if my upvotes were worth more. Then again, I'm prone to memeposting in comments, which isn't always the best for user engagement. Plenty of snark to be had, though!

Good on you for starting this initiative, though! I'm gonna start looking for ways to get more conversation going in my posts...

Posted using Partiko Android

I wholeheartedly agree, @ddrfr33k—getting something out there that people want to engage with is probably the toughest thing. Some of it definitely has to do with the content, some of it has to do with the networking, and I for one am still trying to figure out the secret sauce. I'm often surprised at what people will actually engage on.

Thus, this post. :)

So, anyway, I went with as about a direct approach as I could possibly think of here. We'll see how it goes.

There is definitely a visibility factor that has yet to be resolved when it comes to even seeing a post. Then, with so many people autovoting, even those who are inclined to upvote content don't always see what they're upvoting, let alone the accompanying comments. It's all baffling and maddening and it just keeps going around in circles.

Good luck with encouraging more engagement. When it happens, it will be well worth it.

Thanks! I'll be sure to let you know the details of my endeavor.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to see the level of your engagement with the community as that is good. I also always prefer more and more engagement. I tried commenting a lot on peoples post just to increase my engagement level with the community. It has been part of me on steemit

Hey, @adenijiadeshina.

I think most of us have to be out there commenting on other people's posts quite a bit for things to work. It's the one way we can really get noticed, because we go where they are, rather than hoping they will see what we've posted and come to them. So, it's a good lesson to learn from the very beginning.

There are times, though, where it gets tough to find something you want to comment on, and after a while, you think you should have more comments on your own posts. That's kind of where I've been the last few months, and it's been mainly because the folks who have regularly commented on my posts have dropped off their activity (for one reason or another) or are gone completely.

Which means, all that work of commenting on other people's posts starts all over again, and gets harder because you were interacting with the folks you were because you liked their posts and they were willing/able to reply. It's been eyeopening to say the least. :)

Finally! I was actually waiting for something like this to pop up. People just don't want to take the time and share their views on others' posts. They just upvote and leave most of the time.

I try to upvote and engage with every person that puts a meaningful comment on my posts and I've had some great intellectual and emotional conversations with some people who actually read the damn article and try to understand it.

It's honestly a little sad that you have to put up a prize or reward for people to start commenting more often. It's something that should naturally happen because, well, this is a social platform. You can't grow without active and meaningful interaction with others. But some people just don't care, I guess.

Hey, @ayushjalan.

I hear you.

Going into this I was thinking it was because people didn't read or have the time to leave a comment, but based on at least what some folks are saying, it's more like they don't know what to say or don't feel like they are all that good at commenting. So, totally not what I was expecting at all. :)

There's been a mindset on STEEM that existed before I got there that comments don't have a lot of value, and it's rooted in the fact that you do have folks who spam, or don't really say much when they do comment. So, that's not helped, I'm sure, when folks have an opportunity to comment. They apparently get intimidated.

In my case, I'm not asking for razor sharp analysis. When I ask for more than a line or two that's pertinent to what I wrote, I don't think I'm asking for much. It might be a comment asking for clarification of what I just said. As long as it's genuine, that's all that matters. It's when people read a title without reading the rest, or maybe a paragraph, and then base it on that, or don't read at all—it's just easy to tell that they didn't really read.

re: reward

Well, I'm not doing anything I don't already do here. I guess I just felt like maybe telling people that's what I do would help. The problem is, there are those who don't expect anything for their comment—they're just doing it because they want to—and I certainly don't want to turn those folks off (I usually upvote them, anyway). As long as I have the voting power, I upvote, and if I don't, well, I'm forced to be somewhat picky. :)

As long as it's genuine, that's all that matters.

Exactly. It's about quality of your comment, not about how many you can write to random people so they visit your blog once. I can't even begin to tell you how good it feels when someone actually writes a genuine comment on your post, especially when it's something personal and you want people to care.

It's when people read a title without reading the rest, or maybe a paragraph, and then base it on that, or don't read at all—it's just easy to tell that they didn't really read.

I've had a lot of those too, lol. Their comments, like you mentioned, are pretty much "Good article", "Thank you for sharing", "Really helpful post" and all that crap. Either that, or they just repeat back what you have already written in your post.

Buy hey, as long as there are a fair number of genuine commenters, I won't complain.

Slobberchops!? I've seen slobberchops! He's your competition.

But seriously, Glen. I comment on only some of what I read, mostly because, while I've absorbed it, I don't have insight... Well, and also because I'm not always sure how to honestly respond. Sometimes I know the thing compelling me to respond is just a disagreement with some element, and I get tired of arguing, especially on social media. Maybe that's just me...but it's not. Not talking about you, necessarily. Just...things.
I will make an effort to acknowledge that I've read your post with a comment. I can't promise that it will be insightful, though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @improv.

No worries and no pressure. I've been told that people actually read more than they comment, so you're the second person to say that, when I've been thinking few people read. So, good to know.

As I was telling someone else, I don't know how to respond to a lot of things, so I keep trying to find stuff that I can respond to. It's not that easy, for sure. And, arguing isn't something I like to do, but I don't mind differing points of view if people are willing to be civil. That's actually when it's good—other than that, I can do without it.

re: insightful. I think the baseline here is something genuine and go from there. And if there's honestly nothing to say, no problem. :)

Well, if you follow my freewrite mind, you'll know that sometimes what I have to say doesn't make any squirrel.

Posted using Partiko Android

As far as I can tell, squirrels and shiny distractions of all shapes and sizes are more than welcome in comments. :) There tends to be plenty of tangents from what I read. :) I'm not one to demand that everything be on topic, just maybe the first one or two comments. After that, if things go somewhere else (well, I've been guilty of that. And as far as I'm concerned, too, if they're entertaining, that makes it all the more fun. Some of us, though, are slower witted than others, so I might need a decoder ring or two on occasion. :)

I'll pepper you with puns.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it is common courtesy to upvote someone’s comment when they read your content . At least 30% .

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, @blanchy.

I'm glad that there's at least two of us out there. :) I'm not hitting 30% on a regular basis (depends on the content of the comment), but as I said, getting it well over the dust threshold has been my mission, and I'm happy to say I've achieved it.

It's weird to think of ourselves as larger accounts when we're still relatively small dolphins, but I guess that's what we are. Something about being an example, giving back, so on and so forth. :)

Hey buddy. I don't know if this comment deserves an upvote but I just wanted to say hi and I wish I had the chance to talk to you after the meeting the other night. We should get together again some time soon and talk Steem and stuff. Keep up the good work. I hope you are still enjoying yourself. ;)

Well, see now, @bbrewer, the simple fact that you're reading my post and commenting makes it a must for an upvote!

Yeah, I kind of bugged out right after our ward got done. You all looked deep in thought, so I didn't even try to interrupt and say goodbye. You were right about something going down. More meetings! Woohoo!

And yes, we should get together and talk it up :) You know I'm flexible. When would you be available? Just let me know.

re: enjoying myself

I have my moments. I think mostly I stick it out because, left to my own devices, I'm too stubborn to quit. Or don't know when to quit, whichever. I've seen you popping on here a little bit more with some upvotes my way which, as always, are greatly appreciated. And with STEEM nudging up ever so slightly, we might be seeing a light at the end of the crypto winter, if I can mix metaphors. :)

How about next friday night? March 22nd. There is a lot going on this week and weekend!

As far as I can tell right now, that will work. Looking forward to it. Woohoo! :)

Woo to the hoo!

Well I started actively participating a couple of weeks ago. I also think that people should comment more. I see some posts having hundreds of upvotes but less than 10 comments. I was surprised... I try to comment as much as possible. Also I would like to see more comments to my posts so that there is some interaction. I like reading different opinions.

This comment is not to get the reward but more like “I have read your post and here is what I think” :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm sure Glen wont mind me dropping a link to this: https://steemit.com/engagement/@abh12345/the-curation-and-engagement-leagues

I've just had a skim through your recent engagement and I think you might as well drop your name on this post. There are prizes and plenty of engagers knocking around :)

Hey, @lion200.

Well, I just upvoted it out of habit anyway, so hopefully that's okay. :)

The reason for the hundreds of votes versus so small engagement is because so many people autovote. I can't blame them. The curation system is set up to maximize rewards that way. You basically need to get in before the larger rewards do so you can get a bigger share of the curation rewards. So, people autovote. And of course, what people have for time on STEEM is a factor, and the recent bearish prices haven't helped a whole lot either.

The sad thing is, though, the price plunge, while leading to lesser activity, fewer posts, etc., means that visibility goes up for those of us who stick around. So it's an opportunity to be noticed for those of us who do. In reality, there should be more engagement than ever among the active, not less. :)

Thanks @glenalbrethsen! I understand the point in using Autovoting. Time is also an issue indeed. In the end, I must say I value the personal opinion of people in comments more than the autovotes. Thanks for bringing up this subject.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97