For The Curators, Developers And Engagers Among Us

in #community5 years ago

This HardFork Is For You

I want to encourage everyone who considers themselves a curator, or potential curator, developer and engager to make the best of the opportunity after the hardfork next Tuesday.

Curators

Indeed, curators, much of the success of the Economic Improvement Proposal (EIP) rests upon you. Yes, authors still need to post, but they're already feeling disheartened by the change to a 50/50 split along with the convergent linear curve and the downvotes. Not too mention a smaller reward pool thanks to the 10% that will soon go to the STEEM Proposal System (SPS).

So, authors are going to need all the help they can get.

Now, I'm not saying just any content curators. The point here is, the best posts will rise, while the lesser will fall. This isn't meant to be a means by which to continue to spread upvotes as far and as wide as possible. Not the way I understand it, anyway. It's meant to increase returns for curation, while finding the posts that add the greatest value.

And since not one particular person can say, This is what quality looks like without someone else taken umbrage with the narrow definition, the best part of this should be that a wide variety of content will be rewarded.

Those among us with higher SP, feel free to let loose a few 25% to 100% upvotes as you connect with a post. If the upvotes you give are all fractions of one percent because you're trying to help as many people as possible, I don't really think the end result will be helping, because it is possible to still spread a vote out so thin that it really loses its effectiveness. Especially when it comes to morale.

I think in any of this, aside from whatever rewards value might make it to payout, morale is the key. Most of us authors aren't keen on what's to come. I'm inviting you all to step up.

Which means I'm basically asking all of us to step up. Because really, even if we are other things—authors, developers, investors and engagers—we need as many hands on deck as we can muster.

Developers

I know that it's discouraging and unfair to be asked or expected to put out your best work when there's little chance of compensation for it. You give it away for free, people will keep taking it for free, and to compound things, they'll demand you do more for them. So, I get it. For there to be more development on the blockchain, there needs to be pay involved.

It also means the magnitude of this steps up a little.

For that fair compensation, which you will have a chance to set and the community to then vote on, I'm hoping to see a lot more than just carbon copies of existing social media, or watered down versions of computer and gambling games. If STEEM has taught us anything, it should be, people take their investments seriously. So, while I expect you know that, and that you're ready to meet the challenge, and that in the next six months to a year, there will be all kinds of amazing things developing on the blockchain, I'm stating it anyhow.

Take advantage of the opportunity. Bring your best ideas. Make your best case. If chosen, then please bring your 'A' game. It might be the only opportunity you get if results disappoint. On the other hand, it might turn into a lucrative and satisfying lifelong endeavor if you get it right.

I know. Like, now pressure. Personally, I think there's plenty in the community who can pull off some great work. There are more who might come to STEEM knowing there's a greater chance of making something from it. Greater competition will create better projects and better results.

siblings-862967_1280.jpg
STEEM community, next Tuesday.

Engagers

I probably don't need to tell you guys much of anything. You already know what the feelings are of folks on the chain going into this hardfork. A mixture of hope, trepidation, disheartenment, distrust, resignation, and a true desire that STEEM flourish, even if it does mean some kind of sacrifice now.

Just like curators, we all need to step up the engaging. In doing so, I'm not asking anyone to sugarcoat what comes next, or even call it necessary pain. I'm just asking for all of us to be there for each other. If last hardfork is any indication, we're going to need a lot of virtual ears to bend after this one.

Engagers put the social in social media. Without engagement, it's something else. Screaming into the void is how I like to put it, but you can come up with your own analogy or description.

Personally, I think the engagers will have the easiest time of all, barring another inability to transact or something. The reason for that is, most of us will be feeling pretty much the same as everyone else. I expect empathy to abound in some way or another.

Let's just help each other through this, okay,in whatever form that takes, from kindness to sarcasm if needs be. You all know the people you engage with. Have their backs, they'll watch yours, and we'll all be better for it, regardless how the hardfork turns out.

Image source—Pixabay

Sort:  

Sadly I am not convinced this HF is anything more then a shell game to make sure those who already have the most get more, but I'll keep plugging away for now.

Hey, @thedarkhorse.

re: shell game

Yeah, there's that, isn't there? :)

I'm not sure what else to do other than continue to plug away. I don't plug away, unless I find something else comparable, I make nothing. I don't know of anything comparable. Plus, I'm making SNAX (woohoo!) with every post, so there's that. :)

I really holding out for SMT's and RC Pools as I have a couple business ideas that will use this. I'm sure if I have some ideas there are others who do also.

What I'm not sure about is how much demand this will really impact Steem prices as you can do a whole lot of activity with just 1000sp.

I can't say that I've looked into the RC pools or delegation that much, other than what I've read about them being worked on. It will be interesting to see the demand, though. If you have to rent delegation to even post, and then pay to get your post anywhere so it can be seen...

SMTs are a little less fuzzy now than they were a year ago, but people seem to like putting together tokens on STEEM-Engine and forming communities around them, so seeing the practical use helps, even if it's not really SMTs at work.

Thanks for the info @glenalbrethsen. I'm not sure what any of this will mean to me, but I feel the changes will not impact me in any way that will influence how I participate. The one and only reason I got started with blogging was to leave a journal of a small part of our life, for future generations of my family to get a small sample of how I lived and what my interests were.
The one thing that I was not counting on was making so many new friends, and I will continue to support their efforts as best I can. Hard fork, no fork, what ever moves steem in the right direction is fine with me.

Hey, @thebigsweed.

I think at this point, that the best attitude to have. Keep doing what you're doing. I think the idea of having a journal for at least a part of your life for future generations is an awesome one, and I'm sure there will be plenty of others here who wished they had maybe done a little bit more about their lives and a little bit less about whatever it was they posted about. :)

re: right direction

Tuesday is the hardfork, but it will probably be at least a few weeks after that before we see the direction we're taking. One thing seems certain, STEEM is getting some press about this particular hardfork, so we might have more eyeballs watching things this time, for good or ill.

I guess only time will tell.
I hope that everything works out for you, as I know the time you have devoted to this platform has been substantial, to say the least.
Have a great Sunday @glenalbrethsen.

With all the new tokens the curation of posts seems to be a better deal. I think it is going to be very interesting to see how all this will work out. Potentially there are more places to get a post noticed and different ways to receive compensation on content.
!trdo

Congratulations @litesplasher, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @glenalbrethsen!
@glenalbrethsen got 6 TRDO & @litesplasher got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Token distribution bot developed by @ali-h

Hey, @litesplasher.

I agree with your assessment about the tokens. Potentially there is a chance for content to be discovered quicker/better, because of them, and in multiple places—kind of like what categories were meant to be, anyway. So, whether it's STEEM proper, on PALnet, STEEMLeo, Creative Coin or some other place or all of them combined, curators gotta curate. :)

Here we go! We will have plenty to learn from and Inwould expect that the data gurus will be be out a week after comparing the curves, posts, engagements among many other metrics which will surely change from the hard fork. I am most looking forward to see what brave souls put out some proposals to seek funds as they will be a source of value creation which we will need to potentially offset the short term impacts of changes.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, @newageinv.

Oh, I'm sure the data gurus are just itching to get to the data as soon as it is available. :) I'd be interested in seeing it myself.

And I would hope that those brave souls already have an idea or two in mind. In fact, I'm kind of surprised we haven't heard anything about them, yet. I would think they wouldn't mind using some of this pre-HF21 focus to get their ideas out there with a bunch more eyeballs on it. I guess there's a risk of it being lost in the commotion during and after HF21, but still. Free publicity. :)

Nice post. I guess I fall into the engager category

Hey, @doyi.

It's a very important category, so it's a good one to fall into.

As it is, most of us fall into multiple categories, or will at some point, so I'm hopeful that the majority of us will have a role to play within the circles we keep.

Can't have curators and engagers without content creators, and you can't have content creators without curators and engagers. And we all need developers to have somewhere to create, curate and engage, and that means we need investors to back the development. So, it's all intertwined, we need it all, and more, so STEEM can move forward.

I read that rewards would be 50/50 author and curators
does this will applied to pending posts rewards
which their votes made before Hf21 (27/8)???!!

Hey, @totyahmed731993.

I've read it both ways, where posts before HF21 will be paid based on HF20, and I've also read it the other way, that basically any post waiting for payout will get HF21. I don't know which is true. I'm hoping that someone, particularly the dev group on steemitblog, will clarify.

{So, authors are going to need all the help they can get} yep!

So double up on your steem power if possible - easy solved :)

Hey, @michealb.

I like it. Now, I just need to live up to it. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I think this is good for those who already have a lot of SP, for the regular users it isn't too interesting. I think now we are going to have a decrease on new account creation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, camiloferrua.

re: a lot of SP

If you're talking about curation, I agree. It's going to take quite a bit, and it's going to need to be well positioned, for it to really make much of a difference. As it is, the higher SP doesn't really get all they could out of curation because they don't typically precede the big upvote to maximize their curation. They are the big upvote, unless they're doing the 0.5% to 5% deal, which a lot of them do. Then, basically, they're trying to get in before the other does.

As far as new account creation goes, we don't seem to be setting any records now, so who knows. Things need to be easier, not harder, and I personally don't see anything that makes things easier. I guess we'll all find out next Tuesday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42