Documenting The Nigerian Crypto Story

in #community6 years ago

image

So I have never really spoken about my plans for the forthcoming event almost every Nigerian Steemian has been looking forward to.

As someone who can confidently call himself a "pioneer member" of the SIN craze, that's simply because I attended the very first event, I am excited about all the preparations being made and how much of a difference this year's event will have when compared to the previous one. It is not an easy feat to have an idea and stick with it through thick and thin.

Lately, my storyteller side has been trying a lot to force its way out of the comfortable cage I have placed it and I've been able to provide little or no resistance so far. I think it is because I might actually love this storyteller side of me a lot and wouldn't mind seeing it manifest rather than being caged. So, yeah I haven't ever tried to totally shut it down.

But why all this story?

It's simple! I think SIN2 will be an amazing opportunity to document the crypto story of so many Nigerians. There are so many ways this storytelling could become useful.

Context

For one, we all assume crypto has done a lot for Nigerians without really having exact numbers or any evidence to back up our claims. A gathering of Nigerian crypto enthusiasts will be an amazing point to begin this documentation. It is my belief that this will help put everything in context and show how much growth we have witnessed between January 2017 and now.

Testimonial

Documenting people's stories will very easily serve as a reference point and a source of inspiration to those yet to jump aboard the crypto Ship. Many people never really want to be the first, they prefer allowing others to test the waters before deciding whether to join in or not.

Showoff

Crypto's potential that is! A properly documented story of thousands of Nigerians talking about their lives before and after their introduction to crypto would very easily show to the world what crypto can achieve and how much more can be achieved with actual investment in terms of buying up Steem and powering up.


image

Can you spot my tiny self somewhere in the picture above?​ That picture was taken during the first ever SIN and I am happy I can look back today with so much pride and joy. Today, it is exciting to note and say that the entire attendance at SIN1 isn't as big as some Nigerian subcommunities! That's to show how far we have come!


Sort:  

is that you at the high table?

Err... is that me? 🤔

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Spotted you seating close to Ehiboss at the high table

How much computer code did you have to compile to come to this conclusion? 😆

No coding
I am a Scofield Lol!

It's truly amazing how @ehiboss has stayed true to the SIN vision. Yes I agree with you as regards the after effect testimonials of the SIN 2 gathering...I was no where close to the crypto crowd in 2017 yet here i am now enjoying every minute of the highs and lows...Can't wait to meet the amazing Steemians that would be at that conference.

Yes! It's people like you that get me excited. It shows how much we've grown and how far we've come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28