A Donation Request ~ STOPPAGE ~ Misinformation. Refunds Issued

in #community6 years ago (edited)

Update to post:
https://steemit.com/life/@solarparadise/please-read-regarding-donations

I was given the following information by @guiltyparties and it appears there was misinformation about the guy being a VET. I never worded my post in the fashion that this was for a VET so as long as he is having eye surgery and is in need, I am still giving the SBD from this post and have already boosted it. I did not make this post due to him being a VET but due to his losing his eyes.

He has refunded all direct donations made since this post was made and if he refunds me after payout, so be it.

Original Post:

We have all seen community post about communities. Steemit users as a whole are the first and most important community.

We can all select smaller communities as we find our groups of like-minded people but we can't just forget those users outside of our circles either.

Wall-Mysticism-Mask-Girl-Fantasy-Eye-Surreal-2506830.jpg

There is a Steemit user @solarparadise, who is losing his eyes and needs Corneal cross-linking (CXL) which isn't covered by his insurance. The whole cost of the procedure is $2,500 US. Bobby just received a contact from his wife's friend on Facebook that they may be able to get the surgery done for $1,000 US but that is not a guarantee yet. Bobby has been with us since June 2017 here on Steemit. This is a tiny amount needed if even just 10% of the Steemit 1% step up and help a fellow user in need.

It could be a great topic to tracked by @steemstem as it is an experimental procedure.

Bobby will, of course, have recovery time post surgery and this is just the surgery not covered by his insurance, he will have to undergo at least one more surgery after this one in hope to regain his vision.

Bobby is a proud honorable man and has made a post requesting that donations stop, in the hopes, it can be done for the lesser cost. That is not a guarantee. We need to pull together and help, we need to show the real power of the Steem blockchain when it comes to issues of protecting and helping our users.

I am not sure the total amount still needed but any SBD earned off of this post will be given to him towards his surgery, bills while in recovery and his basic life needs.

You can donate directly to him, vote this post, vote his post or whatever other way you can.

I know this is going to be a hard one for a lot of the 1% to pick giving to this user over upvoting themselves for the day. These funds will indeed be sold on the market for expenses and I am okay with that as part of the 1%

Are you?

Here is a little about the procedure.

Corneal cross-linking (CXL) is an in-office eye procedure that strengthens the cornea if it’s been weakened by keratoconus, other corneal disease, or (rarely) a complication of LASIK surgery. Alternative and brand names for the procedure include corneal cross-linking, corneal collagen cross-linking, C3-R, CCL and KXL.

https://www.allaboutvision.com/conditions/corneal-crosslinking.htm

@tarazkp named the following accounts as the biggest community supporters, how many of you will knock on this post or directly on a post of @solarparadise?

@curie, @ocd, @utopian-io, @blocktrades, @steemstem, @berniesanders, @acidyo, @kpine, @thejohalfiles, @glitterfart, @ned, @dan or any of the silent whales swimming around in silence???

Sort:  

Just so happens I had 300 STEEM liquid. It's his now. Don't expect any of the whales on Steemit to care. They don't, we all know this.

If you ever need a bearded man in a hoodie to give you an angry handjo' while maintaining eye contact, you just let me know. You've earned it.

I doubt it, but I'll keep that in mind. :D

So awesome! I'm going to focus on those who do care, like you and @erodedthoughts and many others. The rest don't capture my attention. Thank you for being you!

That’s awesome dude bless you

No problem.

I did this because A) I wanted to help. And B) I wanted to shame the fucking piece of shit whales who we all know would not give a post like this even a 1% vote because it would be a minor inconvenience.

You've changed this guys life and gave him hope, that is what it is all about. I can't make anyone give anything but reading their post, they say it is all about community.......

You should get some good karma, pay it forward points too man

Too bad the world doesn't operate like that. But I hope the money helps anyway.

I was simply acknowledging @erodedthoughts effort for creating this post, which got you to do something good. I don’t think it’s unreasonable to expect/think/hope for good to attract good. This world doesn’t work like that on all levels but it doesn’t mean that we should accept it or follow the way the world works at all times.

This platform has done more for me than I could ever repay. Many of the things too valuable to attach a dollar amount to.

Don't be like that. Don't be a peasant. This platform could be so much more, but it isn't.

Everyone has a different point of view and perception. And value doesn’t always come in the form of a currency.

Yes, there is a lot of lost potential I see all the time. I am talking about the friendships I have made here, the chat and off platform interaction. I meant there are things here worth more than money. And it is great that it really is money in events like this one.

Thank you, erodedthoughts, for all your help! I did refund everyone their donations. I do not want donations given under false pretenses, and do not want anyone to think I may have tried to take advantage of the situation. I wanted to give everyone a refund to show I'm making a good faith effort to correct the situation. I do still need the procedure for my eyes, so if anyone is still interested in donating, I would definitely appreciate the help.

(Comment typed by my wife - hence the good spelling!)

Get your eyes fixed . if you have anything left over give it to the next person who needs help . but all that can be discussed after . for now take care of yourself and your family with the donations . !!!

Thank you @erodedthoughts for this opportunity of helping a brother here on steemit. I've sent @solarparadise a couple of SBD.. I wish I could do more, but that's what I can do for now from my irrelevant account.

I've sent 1 SBD to @solarparadise because my voting power is worthless.
Wish i could actually send something more meaningful; pray he gets a successful operation.

Showing support in a time of need is a payment upon itself. You are very new here, this is an awesome gesture and more than enough. The key is getting as many as possible involved.

I only hope he gets well

Thank you for sharing this and thanks to @wolfhart for bringing it to my attention. I'm sending something via your wallet for solarparadise.

I will send it on . You have an incredible heart . Like none I have ever seen . !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ahh you're pretty awesome yourself @wolfhart :)

@lynncoyle1 can't buy beer I'm under age . you have to settle for pop this is comming from fast reply

haha you did it!! See how easy that was :)

yea I like it so far reply so I can see if it works

@wolfhart, are you getting this one? 🙏

@lynncoyle1 yes but I have to reload inbox every time which is ok . I think this works well I have 5 less tabs open

I've shared @wolfhart's post regarding this too as well as this one. For those of us that are dustbunnies....there is a gofundme link on @solarpardise's post too.

There you go. It's not much, but I hope it helps.

I have resteemed it! I am not sure If I can help in any other way?

How can I support?

Resteem, you know, I never ask for resteems.

🙏🏻❤️

oh! gosh that is do bad for our old member to be in need of our help i thunk the community in general should some Sbds from their wallet and give to this guy to complete the surgery.

Yes! He'll surely have a successful surgery 🙏🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97