You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Mom Passed Away Yesterday

in #community5 years ago

I am so very sorry to hear about your mother. Losing one's mother is so profound, I'm not sure there is anything that I can even compare It to. It's so brand new, so fresh, I'm in all that you are even thinking about what you need to do except perhaps to just feel. Everything else can come after this. Just take a moment for yourself. I feel like you might be a little bit too hard on yourself trying to figure out whether it is enough or not. Right after you lose someone is no time to do that because you always come up short no, because that's what we do when we miss someone. We try to think how we could have done more loved more help more, more more more. In fact, if I had to guess, you're probably just perfect.

Having lost my own mom to dementia/Alzheimer's not that long ago, my heart goes out to you.

I keep you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers, especially your dad who is basically just drift and right now so keep him under your care. Let your heart guide you in your writing and your decisions and much love to you and your family. Again my deepest condolences. I just wish I didn't have to give them.

Sort:  

Hey, @dswigle.

Thank you for the condolences and well-wishes.

I'm finding out here that not feeling isn't working out—I think I have too much of my mom in me for that. :)

So, whether I want to or not, it is mostly emotion right now. I can think of 100 or more things that I or anyone of us involved could have done, and yet, I also know that I don't know all of what took place or could have been done, even my own part of it, so I am trying not to go down the road. As you say, though, coming up short when we're missing someone seems to go hand in hand.

You know what it's like then, and maybe even more so, since I don't even know if my mom was even being diagnosed for the onset of dementia/Alzheimer's, but there was something definitely going on there.

I agree about my dad. I need to find out more about what he needs right now. I wish my younger sister were living there, but that's his and her decisions, not mine. Trying to know when to suggest and when not to is one of the harder things right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54