You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leadership, Bridges and Restraint -- Not Everyone Is Built For Them

in #community7 years ago

This was a very good post. I've found that sometimes when these conflicts arise, the best thing to do is take a deep breath and step back and remind yourself that you're all aiming for the same things, it's just that, often, the ideas you have about how to get there are what's causing the clash.

It's very much like when you accept crit on writing. It's best to take ego out of the equation and keep focussed on the fact the person giving the critique is trying to do their best for the work and not for your feelings.

Sort:  

Couldn't agree more on both points @damianjayclay.

In the situation which inspired this post, suggestion was made that chill out time would be good. That sparked a new escalation, so apparently wasn't well received.

I've had one piece critiqued at TWB. I submitted it with a lot of trepidation but the response really was great. The holes in the story were pointed out in as kind as way possible.

Had I chose to be defensive about my writing or took the comments personally, I could have perceived the comments as an attack. They were anything but. Putting aside any personal response, the comments were dead on and showed me weaknesses in what I had written.

I am working on making revisions and it will be resubmitted. Writing is a craft and can't be improved if I'm not willing to listen to input and work on learning the craft.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41