Followup on My Donation in Honor of Laura Lemons

in #community7 years ago (edited)

nami-logo-blue.jpg

Nine days ago, I wrote a tribute to Laura Lemons who recently & unfortunately passed away due to suicide that was heavily if not 100% due to mental illnesses. Laura suffered from severe PTSD, depression, anxiety, and other debilitating physical maladies.

I made this tribute post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@chelsea88/my-personal-tribute-to-laura-lemons-a-steemian-friend-artist-and-bright-mind

I have made good on my promise to donate a portion of that post payout to a mental health organization. The post payout was $53, and I decided to donate $40 of it. Thanks to all Steemians who upvoted or helped circulate that post.

After some research, I decided on NAMI. They are a non for profit org with sites in hundreds of locations throughout the US. Their objective is to provide those suffering with a platform to aide in facilitation of receiving treatment. They do support groups, give free referrals for treatment, have a phone line, have anonymous online platform to share your story, have an online blog as well. They are working on community outreach, raising awareness, are working hard to end the stigma on mental illnesses.

I think Laura could've probaply used this organization advantageously. I too have PTSD, major depressive disorder, and severe anxiety. I found out there are one of these NAMI sights right here where I live in Frederick, Maryland. Down the line, as I am able to, I may volunteer a couple hours a week there to help out.

So, here's the proof that I also promised:

20170916_231928.png

20170916_231448.png

RIP Laura Lemons. I'll never forget you and I'm a proud owner of some of your art and both your coloring books! I know Laura is gone from our physical realm but not to get all "hallmark greeting card " on you, she's not really gone; as she lives on in the hearts of all the people who cared for her. I am relieved to know she's no longer suffering but definitely VERY sad it came down to what it did. I also chose NAMI because they can help people who don't have medical insurance, which Laura did not. One has to wonder what impact an earlier intervention would've had for Laura. I truly hope Laura is somewhere really cool right now. I bet she is. ♡

FB_IMG_1504847762091.jpg

Image one pulled from Google search
Images 2 & 3 my screenshots of the donation. Last image is our lovely Laura Lemons.

Learn more about NAMI: https://www.nami.org/About-NAMI

Sort:  

I'm sure your donation will be put to good use. Thanks for letting us know about it!

Definitely! Thanks for reading

I am so sorry that you lost a good friend and the art/coloring world lost an amazing artist. Mental Illness is still underestimated and dismissed by way too many doctors. The stigma surrounding it makes too many people fail to get help.

You know that I'm here if you need me, always♥

Thanks tabz. I know you are and I sppreciate that. 😊❤

Sorry Laura could't get help. Glad you are facing ptsd head on. Things "will" get better with time and understanding, along with help from others.

Thanks @manorvillemike really appreciate that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66