[BuddyUP] : Our BOT is LIVE!

in #community6 years ago (edited)

Back once again!


If you've been a member of the community for the past few weeks, I know you've been waiting patiently for our Buddy Request BOT to become active.

Well, we have good news... It is alive and kicking!

Over the past couple of days, we have been testing the BOT and making sure it works without any problems. It seems to be swimming along nicely and the server has stopped shutting down randomly, so I think we are good to go!

What is so good about this BOT?


It's nothing special. In fact, it's the very height of basic. We decided that we need some way for our members to BuddyUP.

Some people find it difficult to get involved in general chats and others don't spend much time getting to know others personally. After a little bit of thinking, the idea to make a BOT that would pair users together was born.

Being paired up with another member takes away the struggle that some people experience when they are approaching somebody new. With the BuddyME BOT you can pair up with someone new every 48 hours!

My thought was that; if two people are paired up, the likelihood that one person talks to the other is very strong! After all, they requested for the Buddy in the first place?

What does this help out with?


We have just removed our Self Promotion channel in the BuddyUP discord server. This is to start getting newer users into the habit of sharing other peoples work.

When you first join BuddyUP, you are a Tetra. This role is set so that you can use the Buddy Request channel to find more friends, you can curate posts on the post-spot channel, you'll be able to read the other channels and check out what the bigger fish are up too and you can float along to other fun areas and get involved.

Curating may seem like a silly thing for new users when you are just joining a server. After all, you want to promote yourself, so that you can show off what you can do. I get that, I've done it (and still do!), other people do it, and there are so many servers out there where you can drop in, send your post, and dip out just as fast as you got here.

Not in BuddyUP.

This place is about engagement. It's about being a member of the community and improving yourself one keystroke at a time. We want our users to get better, and I'm going to make sure you guys have the features and the platform to do it.

What comes after a Tetra?


I'm so glad you asked. Once you have shown us that you are willing to engage, improve and share what you've found about your Buddy, your favorite author or just other members of the community. You'll be ready to be a Guppy.

When you're a Guppy, BuddyUP opens to some different possibilities. This is where you are going to seriously improve.

Hopefully, those scales have toughened up as a Tetra.

When you're a Guppy, you'll want some thick skin.

Guppies have got access to the post-drop channel. This is the place for people who want to improve themselves constantly. It's a feature focused on constructive criticism and honest feedback.

The other feature that opens up to Guppies is the community-effort channel. This is where we put our heads together and we all pitch in to make an amazing post based on a certain topic.

We pitch an idea, decide who is doing what, then we go and research and write up what we need to. Once we are all ready and everything is pasted into the channel, somebody takes the information, edits, and types of the community post. We decide on contributions and what percentage each person receives and then we wait for the payout day to roll around when we will split it up.

We already have our first post done and dusted. Head on over to Cruel Digital World and check it out!

Is there more?


You've shown that you want to improve. You've been curating and showing off some brilliant posts. You're positive, enthusiastic and you know how to pick out a great post from a pile.

You are now a Gourami.

You've come a long way since the first days on the server. Now you can see some exceptional content from a mile away.

alan-bishop-49711-unsplash.jpg

the-hook is where all our brilliant content stays and it's the Gourami who choose it. Improving yourself and being consistent has paid off massively because everyone in the server now looks up to you as someone who has paved the way for their own success. You've earned it.

Now you get to help out the other people on their journey.

It's down to you


BuddyUP is not your average channel. We are focused on your improvement. You need to make the decision about whether or not you want to be here. If you want to continue dropping the link to your post into 20 servers and repeating that boring routine, day after day, until someone nibbles at your line, go ahead. I don't know if it works because I'm not about that game.

If you're here for BuddyUP, we're here for you.

Evolve into somebody who values great content and loves to make people feel amazing. You've got the power to improve, compliment, teach and enjoy. Use it wisely.

pietro-jeng-266042-unsplash.jpg

You're welcome to drop into our ocean here and see what we do. If it's not your vibe, that's ok we understand. Hopefully you will find your place here and we can learn something from you.

We all grow together.


Images taken from Pixabay.com & Unsplash.com.


If you'd like to get involved, head over to our server here or if you don't trust those dangerous looking green words, here https://discord.gg/9b7FtHu

See you in there!

Sort:  

This is a really great idea! Helping the people to get involve in something and also get to know each other!!!! I actually don't have the right words for it apart from: Great Job, I love it :D

I'm glad you like it and it's great to see you in the community! You didn't hesitate to jump straight in which is brilliant, need more people like you who want to get involved.

Thanks for stopping by! I'll see you in BuddyUP :D

Thank you but I still have to read some things about the BuddyUP to completly understand how it works and what I should do now as my first steps^^

That's a good way to be, very cautious of not burning yourself out. Over at BuddyUP, we are trying to guide newer users to prevent them from burning out and getting ahead of themselves!

Hopefully we will see you there at some point but there is no rush! :)

This seems like a great idea- I'm a little leery, though, not due to anything you guys are doing, but just because I'm in so many discord channels right now.

I understand that :) I've just deleted a load of mine to make space for the valuable ones.

The door is always open for you anyway!

I love the idea and I know it is difficult to engage someone on the server sometimes, this does make it better. Also, it makes steemit more human, no more hunting for upvotes, just plain old interacting and talking like a normal social media platform.

You've hit the nail on the head.

Did you read my initial messages when I was thinking about making this or something? ;)

Alrighty I am pretty excited to see this flourish. Very interesting concept of buddying up and having the bot randomly assign you a partner for 48 hours.

I was never a fan of the drop and go kind of people.
This was actually a rant that turned into a post hahha check it out if you want to

Dropping it like it's hot! | Links, links and links everywhere!

I think this is one of the reasons that we got along with each other. I am really a supporter of your initiatives.

I'm glad you like it! I'm going to need to really consider how this will scale but I think it's got a decent bit of groundwork in. I need to turn my focus to a solid team.

I wasn't either, this is what really put me off other groups. I'll get onto that post :D

I think it is too buddy. It's nice to know people who are like-minded. It makes the experience so much better.

Thats cool and I’d gladly meet new steemians this way. Please keep me in the loop. Great initiative!

The door is always open :)

Very happy to make your acquaintance. Good idea, at least in theory, let's see how it moves! Cheers!

Thanks for stopping by mate! Just little baby steps for now, great guys already here and looking forward to the many more to come :)

@calumam, as I've said before, you have really done an exceptional job at laying the foundation for a fantastic Discord Server. You are creating a group that is going to have real value to its members. I really admire your vision, and the hard work you have put in to getting this off the ground.

I'm sure you will make adjustments as this new phase gets underway, and you have a chance to see how it is working. So far you seem to be really good at evaluating the needs of your group, and making decisions to keep things running smoothly.

My initial reaction to having a new buddy every 48 hours is that is not enough time to get to know one person at the level you are describing. I would be more comfortable if I knew I had a week with them before moving on to a new person.

Maybe you mean that the soonest a person could apply for a new buddy would be once every 48 hours, and people won't get a new buddy until they request one. That would be okay, because then everyone can move at their own pace.

I'm really happy that you have your bot up and running now, and are moving into the next stage of growth for the group.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 06 MAR 2018.

Cheers!

Thank you very much @mitneb! This means an awful lot to me, I appreciate your words.

I think it's important for us to make a group that focuses on the things that make us human and we are really getting to that level over on the server.

You are totally right about the 48 hour period. Two days is nowhere near long enough. I think when you look at how many discord servers people join and relate it to the possibility that could happen with the BOT, you can see how quality doesn't come in quantity. You have to build on realtionships, whether it's with a new Buddy or a new discord server you've joined. Over time you will gain more from it.

I'm so happy to have this BOT running, it's been a while but it's running smoothly and my friend has done a brilliant job of it.

Thanks yet again for the support, the resteems, the kind words and the belief in us as a group. I'll not forget it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66