You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leadership, Bridges and Restraint -- Not Everyone Is Built For Them

in #community7 years ago

Very good post. Lots of stuff for those of us who have leadership positions of any sort to keep in mind. I have a temper... I do my best not to let it control me. Sometimes the best choice is to walk away and cool down for a while so I can have a sensible conversation. But not always easy to make it happen. Especially when dealing with people who are quick to blame everyone else for their own failings or are more interested in their own power than the well-being of an organization or the people around them.

Sort:  

I know what you mean @bex-dk. As a leader it's important to step away to calm down when angered about something but it's so tempting to turn back and just make that one more point. Even though the point made in anger is rarely as effective as responding calmly and rationally later. I can be as guilty as anyone else on that point. I think the important take away is making the effort to be mindful and to follow through. We're human, it's not always easy.

I think it is also important that other people in a group remember that leaders are only human. We have bad days and emotions and struggles of our own. We can't always do the right thing even if we try. Some people just thrive on pushing our buttons.

Well that is true @bex-dk but you also don't take it out on others when you do get frustrated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41