You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 4 o’clocky STEEM KEYS .... KEY TO YOUR SUCCES SO SECURE THEM

in #community5 years ago

I just print it out and keep somewhere safe. Post Active and Memo are kept on keychain app and in encrypted .zip
I still don't know the difference between master and owner. I believe it is technical, for example master can get owner but owner cannot get master. In anycase both should be kept 100% offline.

Also did you know you can change recovery from steemit to anyone you wish? I don't recommend, but it stops steemit from having special powers.

Sort:  

Maybe I should do a part two with the knowledge about the key chain.

And no i didnt but why would accounts want go change recovery from steemit ? I dont understand !

If you start making alt accounts, you may want to set your main account to be able to recover them. Also, if you are giving accounts to family and friends who may not be as savvy. Or for example, Steemit now wants a telephone number and an email address, maybe you don't want to give that personal information to Steemit. Finally, it would be pretty crazy if steemit had this monopoly.

My account is set to Steem as recovery, even though I used Steemit to sign up. I don't know what happens if you use another large dapp. I have a few extra accounts, and I would happily give them away to anyone kind enough to ask and I don't even want anyone's phone number or email.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84