You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creating a Directory of Steem Communities – Submit your Community for Listing Today

in #communities5 years ago

@paulag, a directory that requires every community to self-register (like this one does) instead of proactively identifying communities and gathering their info is extremely unlikely to be comprehensive.
I like your work and have supported some of your other great initiatives, but you're going about this all wrong. This is at least the 4th 'directory' that has been brought to me in the last month with a request to add my community. It's a waste of my time to self-register on every single 'community listing' or 'directory' that pops up.

Please tell me you have a backup plan to make sure that well-known successful communities will still be included in your directory.

Sort:  

you are probably right, im most likely going about this the wrong way. But in defense, this came from feedback from redfish during the make 250 new minnows event. If we had communities on steem the way hivemind intended, we wouldnt need this. But at least right now I have some where to point the 30+ new students I am getting on the training course each week.

I do hope I can grow it and I do hope it can help people, but I do also know and accept its far from perfect.

If you don´t mind me meddling @josephsavage, I find it extremeley easier for a community leader or mod to register their community in a database (no matter if they are 4 or 5 so far) rather than to have one person browse the chain and find communities, then check if they are still active, check if they have a discord, chat, place where they meet, what the community is about etc etc etc, thats at least 5 minutes per community at least 200 times (maybe even more, considering there are a lot of new communities out there with 10 members). These kind of listings depend on the community´s proactiviity and interest in being listed (And getting more attention from users browsing said lists to find a community they are interested in). IMO, its projects and communities who should be interested in getting listed here, not the other way around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00