You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Listening: The Foundation of All Good Communication

Very insightful and educational. I love how you listened to your students’ perspectives and were able to learn from them. Listening is such an important communication skill but it doesn’t seem to be treated that way. I have realized in recent years that my ability to really listen to others effectively needs some serious work. I’ve also realized that in order to improve my listening skills it takes a lot of hard work and intentionality, but I have already seen the positive results of practicing good listening habits in my own relationships. I am highly intrigued by the study of communication and emotional intelligence and what causes us to act and react the way we do in specific situations. I look forward to following and interacting with your content.

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback. It’s really good to hear that you recognized the need for improvement and not only were able to make the physical shift but also sense the benefits right a way. On aspect or teaching communication that is very challenging is that real change and increased competence requires changes in behavior, and changes in behavior do not happen over night. Intention, as you mention, is key, and then trusting the process of working through that intention. But the reward is often immediate — we know success when it happens, and so tapping into that will help to keep improving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68